Crab Rangoon III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Crab Ragoon is my favorite chinese item! This was so delicious! now i can make crab ragoon all day every dayy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made these for a New Years Eve Party, 2011-2012. There wasn't one left over. Modifications: 2 Packages of Philadelphia Cream Cheese. 1 Can of fancy crab meat, throughly drained. 3 Diced scallions. No water chestnuts. Combined mixture with a hand blender. Baked for approximately 10 minutes, 5 minutes on each side vs. fried. This made over 50 crab rangoon's plus extra filling left over. They turned out very creamy, with a subtle hint of crab taste. If you prefer a stronger crab taste, I would use 1 & 1/2 can of fancy crab meat; I plan to do this next time. Some of my wontons oozed slightly while baking. Remember to try and seal the wonton as firmly as possible. This is a great simple recipe that is easily manipulated to your specifications. Just remember that filling & folding wontons is time consuming, so plan accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badlildube

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
All the insides came out during frying despite sealing the edges very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Best crab rangoon we've ever had, with the following changes: left the water chestnuts out, and only used about 4 or 5 ounces of crabmeat. It was the perfect amount of crabmeat to balance out the cream cheese and not give an overwhelming crab texture or flavor. I fried these in oil that I'd used to fry chicken for the Perfect Sesame Chicken on this site. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is my favorite appetizer of all time! Like some others noted in their reviews, I baked mine in a mini muffin tin sprayed with cooking spray, then I brushed the tops with egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bat Ma'am

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I may have done a bad thing by learning how to make this! Like most, I altered a few things and it turned our AMAZING. I left-out the paprika and water chestnuts and replaced it with green onions, a little siracha hot sauce, and more cream cheese because I LOVE creamy Crab Rangoon. I also used the imitation crab, which I was skeptical about but after using both canned and intimation crab, I found I liked the intimation crab's texture the best. I also baked them instead of frying. I lightly brushed both sides with vegetable oil and baked them at 375* for about 18 minutes flipping them once after the bottom side became golden brown. Then while it was baking, I made this sweet and sour dipping sauce. This recipe is SO SO SO good my mouth is watering just thinking about it :) http://allrecipes.com/recipe/hot-and-sweet-dipping-sauce/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
These are great, we make them all the time. I use onion & chive cream cheese and we serve them with sweet Thai chili sauce. The spicy sweet combo with the crab and cheese combo is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I love this recipe! It was very easy to make. I only used one can of crab meat and added about a tablespoon of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Very good, and adaptable to different preferences. Make these changes for more of a "Chinese takeout" flavor: - double the cream cheese - decrease the crab by half - omit the water chestnuts - add 2 Tbsp chopped green onions - add 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce I omitted the water chestnuts the second time I made these, since it is not traditionally part of crab rangoon, and the crunch threw me off a bit. Try mixing up a batch, then frying one rangoon and adjusting the filling ingredients before you make the rest. You'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbaby

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Simple is best when it comes to crab rangoons which is why this is one of the best recipes for it on this site. The only thing I did not like is 2 cans of crab is too much. I only used one and I found it to be a perfect balance of crab and cream cheese. I also left out the water chestnuts (don't like em), and added green oinions and probably 1 1/2 teaspoons of soy sauce for a little asian flavor. This recipe yielded me about 20 rangoons and I had to stop myself from eating them all. This would be a great dish to double and take to a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States