Crab Rangoon III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Great recipe, great taste after I tweaked it. No water chestnuts, added a dash (or two) of soy sauce (that is a muss), practice your wonton assembly techniques. I didn't have it down pat, a few came out great, the others..well, not so much. I used phyllo cups to cook/bake the rest in a 350 degree oven for 15 to 20 mins. And Viola`! Yummers!!! Someone else suggested to make the mixture the night before - awesome idea. Best suggestion yet - read all of the reviews. Awesome recipe, I will be making my own from now on. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
These were amazing! Left out water chestnuts, don't care for them. Blended all ingredients in a food processor, folded wonton wrappers in a triangle after putting in the filling, put water around edges, pressed with fork, to hold in cream filling. Made around 40-50, we ate them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Better than the restaurants!! The triangle fold worked best for us!! Dipped in sweet and sour or soy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My only issue with this, really had nothing to do with the recipe itself. I baked the wontons (Didn't have enough oil) And they did not cook uniformly. The tops were far too crunchy while the pockets were far too chewy.(Side note, I had NO idea wonton wrappers were actually made of tofu). So my guess is frying is a must. I omitted the water chestnuts, and halved the crab. The filling itself tasted fine (though next time I think I'll add more cream cheese for a creamier consistency) IF you do try to bake, be sure to grease your cooking sheet. I had a few stick and tear cause I forgot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ton-Rucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I used only one can of crab and it came out like restaurant style. I also didn't use water chestnuts...never had them with water chestnuts. My husband liked them. I used peanut oil for frying and had no issues. I wet the wrappers on the edges to seal and had no issues with them opening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This recipe got such good reviews and Ive always wanted to try making these but with adjustments they turned out awful! I used imitation crab meat which just didn't taste right and I also baked them but the texture of the wonton wrapper was not good at all. Overall I think I'll use actual real crab meat and fry them next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Crab Ragoon is my favorite chinese item! This was so delicious! now i can make crab ragoon all day every dayy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made these for a New Years Eve Party, 2011-2012. There wasn't one left over. Modifications: 2 Packages of Philadelphia Cream Cheese. 1 Can of fancy crab meat, throughly drained. 3 Diced scallions. No water chestnuts. Combined mixture with a hand blender. Baked for approximately 10 minutes, 5 minutes on each side vs. fried. This made over 50 crab rangoon's plus extra filling left over. They turned out very creamy, with a subtle hint of crab taste. If you prefer a stronger crab taste, I would use 1 & 1/2 can of fancy crab meat; I plan to do this next time. Some of my wontons oozed slightly while baking. Remember to try and seal the wonton as firmly as possible. This is a great simple recipe that is easily manipulated to your specifications. Just remember that filling & folding wontons is time consuming, so plan accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badlildube

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
All the insides came out during frying despite sealing the edges very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States