Crab Rangoon III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These were just OK. I really enjoy the "cheesyness" of the rangoons in the restaurant. These had a little too much seasoning, and didn't have that same taste. I used imitation crab meat, and left out the water chestnuts. I also added some green onion. Still, they just didn't taste cheesy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Copley, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Wow! These were absolutely fabulous! My husband made them, but tweaked just a little. He added about a teaspoon of splenda because we like ours on the sweet side. He also made a great dipping sauce that was a mixture of soy sauce, garlic powder, honey, molasses and a very tiny bit of vinegar. We will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KamiShay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I have been making crab rangoon for over 20 years with a recipe similar to this. It is ALWAYS requested. My husband usually is my helper, and we make enough(double) to serve several times over the holidays. I freeze on trays after oil frying (only until light golden), and then transfer to freezer bags. Reheat when needed in oven on cookie sheets until golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Souderton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Crab Rangoon tastes just as good, if not better, when the fried treats are completely cooled. If you leave them to cool in the open air, the wonton will stay crispy while the cream cheese mixture will regain some of its solid composure. I'm not a big water chestnut fan, so I used a heaping amount of green onions. I was also generous with the garlic powder. Magnifique! This recipe turned out better than most frozen prepared appetizers I've bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I just made these for dinner but I think they really needed some salt. Next time I make them I will add 1 tsp salt to the mixture before filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Shivers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
These were delicious. I made them using imitation crab and fresh minced garlic rather than garlic powder. I didn't have water chestnuts, but I did add some chopped green onion. Those were the only alterations and they tasted just like the ones you get at a restaurant. My family agreed. Thanks for the recipe, La Vaun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
these were ok. had a hard time getting them to stick together even wetting edges they still spilled out in the oil. need more practice. i added crab alittle at a time and tasted it so i wouldn't put too much as other reviews said it was tooo crabby. overall taste is great prep is for more experienced then i am
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lussier25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Again, so much easier than I could have expected. Thanks for making it so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Awesome.. What I did to avoid smooshy cream cheese is pop them in the freezer for about 15-30 minutes before frying. You don't want the wonton wrappers to get frozen solid, so too much longer would probably be bad, but this quick freeze gives the cream cheese time to begin to freeze, so it doesn't go as liquid in the fryer. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
We baked instead of fried. Also, couldn't find wonton wrappers so settled for philo dough. Next time I may go to a oriental store to see if they have wonton wrappers. My boyfriend thinks fake crab would be better than real. We forgot to put the spices in! They were kind of pale, spices would add more. These were neat, the baking option was a real plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheeryWazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States