Crab Rangoon III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Needed some tweaks. Good advice I gathered from other reviews was to press as much liquid from the crabmeat. I also omitted the water chestnuts and added green onion. After making few rangoons, I decided to add a touch of soy sauce to the filling for umami flavor. I also added fresh minced garlic because the powder didn't lend enough flavor alone. I made a dipping sauce of soy sauce, garlic, ginger, brown sugar, water, rice vinegar and a few drops of sesame oil. Went very well together. Will for sure make and tweak again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I really didn't care for the flavor of these and there was barely any crab mixture inside the triangles when I was done frying…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
These came out delicious!! Like a lot of other people said they did in their reviews, I made a few changes here and there so I could give them a more authentic taste. To start off, I decreased the amount of crab meat in the recipe and increased the amount of cream cheese. This was mainly because I wanted to make crab rangoon that tasted like they came from a Chinese restaurant. I kept the spices the same amount as shown in the recipe, but you can really just add them to taste. I also omitted the water chestnuts, as I didn't really think the crunchiness would work. In addition, I used imitation crab meat instead of canned crab meat, which has a much milder flavor and wouldn't overpower the cream cheese. I did not add any green onion, which many reviewers have said really helps the recipe, as I did not have any on hand. But next time I make the recipe, I will definitely be adding some to see if it might further improve the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Only thing I did not as was the water chestnuts, and I thought they were O.K. Others liked them more, I thought the garlic was a little strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I added 1 tbsp of sugar (the crab rangoon I used to get on the east coast was always slightly sweet), and loved it. I make these for lunch or snack regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
There was way to much crab not enough cream cheese and they were really blagh, they need more flavor like green onions and maybe some soy sauce and I am not sure what else but it's definitely missing a few things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
We added chopped green onion and a bit of soy sauce to the mixture for extra flavor. We also pressed the edges of the wonton down with the tines of a fork in order to seal them better. They wer delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
We loved the recipe , first batch was with water chestnuts and the 2nd batch was without the chestnuts. We preferred without the chestnuts & have made it 5 times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I baked... At 400 for 10 min. added 8 oz more cream cheese omitted chestnuts and soy added green onion, ginger,paprika ... Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
We really like this without water chestnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States