Crab Quiche II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Trelawney
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
So this was my first quiche ever and I must say it was a WINNER! My husband loved it. I did make a few alterations based on some of the prior reviews and comments. I sauteed red onion and garlic, diced up fresh spinach, used 2 eggs plus 1 egg beater; 1/4c olive-oil mayo and 1/4c sour cream instead of all mayo; a mixture of cheeses - cheddar/jack/queso, parmesan/romano and sharp cheddar; and added a T of heavy cream to the milk measurement; for spices I added a bit of Old Bay seasoning along with a little bit more pepper. With these alterations it took about 55 minutes to bake instead of the requisite 40 mins. Yummy! I can't wait to make it with other meats such as turkey sausage or ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was okay. Only 1 of 5 liked it. Too creamy of a texture for our family I think. Certainly will try something else instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashippun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Made this for supper and without reading previous reviews, added an extra egg. Also added some steamed fresh spinach for colour. Other than that, it was perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I loved this recipe, but only gave it 4 stars because of the modifications I felt it needed. With the modifications I give it a 5 star rating. As per several reviewers, I used 3 eggs and substituted low fat sour cream for the mayo which gave it a much more airy, less heavy taste. I also added fresh spinach and mushrooms. We aren't big fans of a lot of swiss cheese in a recipe, so I used a mixture of mild cheddar and monterrey jack cheese. Everyone from my father to my husband down to my 2 year old grandson loved it. Serve it with some seasonal fruit or for hearty fare serve it with some great french onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryJaneHarrison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I had a small 6 oz can of crab and wanted to use it, and this came closest to the amount I had. It is quite tasty, although it overflowed the pie crust. I also needed an extra 10 minutes in the oven to get it firm. I did add chopped green onions, and substituted sour cream for the mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I made this for my lactose intolerent husband, so I left out the milk and cheese and just added a little more mayo and an onion, chopped and sauteed in a little oil. The whole family really enjoyed it and it was great cold the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made this for Christmas eve dinner and everyone loved it. I didn't alter the recipe at all and it was perfect which is really saying something because I love to play with ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was such an easy recipe to make , I used mozz. instead because that was all I had. I also added cooked minced onions, used a 1/4 cup of sour cream and 1/4 cup mayo., and toped with sliced tomatoes . A great brunch meal, or to take to a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Rather tasty, however, I used a deep dish pie crust and it was barely half full. Next time I will use the regular depth pie crust pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I have made this twice so far, and have followed the recipe exactly -- including mayo vs. sour cream -- and I have to say I LOVE IT! No "mayo" taste (makes me wonder if others who commented used salad dressing vs. mayo?), and I have to say the imitation crab meat gives it a sweet and slightly robust flavor which I don't think real crab meat could do. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KINCATT
Home Town: Lewiston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Quick Quiche

This dense, flavorful quiche doesn't need a crust to be a brunch star.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States