Crab Quiche I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2003
Super recipe! I used no crust and made the following basic changes: 2 6 oz. cans crabmeat, no mayo - used light & plain yogurt instead, egg substitute in place of 3 eggs, pre-shredded light swiss cheese, added 1 tsp. old bay seasoning, 1 tsp. garlic powder, dash of salt & pepper, & 1 tsp. hot sauce. It was wonderful! I have also doubled the recipe, using no crust & baked it in an 11x7 Pyrex dish for approx. 70-75 minutes. Cut into squares & served many at a brunch! This recipe freezes so well, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
464 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I've been using this recipe for over 20 years and have made it many dozens of times; I think I first got it from Southern Living. It tastes great, but it's a bit finicky, and sometimes I have a hard time getting it to set up properly. It does seem to help using three eggs instead of two. DO NOT use low-fat mayo or it will never set up. I've made it with different cheeses and with other meats or veggies in lieu of crab; it's very versatile and tasty with all the variations. But make sure it's well browned on top, and test it with a knife to make sure it's set before you take it out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
395 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
After reading other reviews I used: 2 6oz cans crab meat, drained; 3 eggs instead of two; and added: teaspoon hot sauce; 2 garlic cloves; a bit less than a cup sharp cheddar cheese, grated; and baked for one hour 15 minutes. YUM!!! I baked it all in a deep dish 9" pie shell which was the perfect size. No need to get picky about measuring. I just approximated everything and it was perfect. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
333 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Great recipe! I used 2 cups of lump crabmeat, 3 eggs, added the tabasco (1/2 t), Old Bay (1 tsp), and sauteed the green onions with red & green peppers. It was so easy and a big hit. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
This is an excellent dish: I would recommend the addition of an extra egg, cheddar instead of swiss, Old Bay seasoning, and dash of tobasco.- just to kick it up a little
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
This was a very good quiche! Like others, I used two cans of crab meat, and added an extra egg, 2 cloves of garlic, salt, pepper, and seafood seasoning and omitted the crust. Halfway through baking, I also added enough extra swiss cheese to cover the top of the casserole. This created a cheesy "crust" for the top of the quiche. Great for low carb dieters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
This was delicious as a crustless quiche. I just poured the filling into 4 greased individual casserole dishes. Easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
As others suggested, I added one egg, some Old Bay seasoning and Cayenne pepper, and 1 cup of chopped, sauted spinach leaves which added a wonderful texture and color! If you can, spring for fresh crab meat, usually found ready-to-go in small containers at your grocers seafood dep't. I've made the dish with both canned and fresh crabmeat without telling my family of the change, and they picked up on it. Fresh crab meat will cost you about $2-$3 more, but if you can't spring for fresh, go ahead and make the recipe with the canned crab meat because it is still a really great quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
After reading other reviews I also used: 2 6oz cans crab meat, drained; 3 eggs instead of two; and added: teaspoon hot sauce; 2 garlic cloves; a bit less than a cup sharp cheddar cheese, grated. I dind't have a pie crust so I used Bisquick and turned it into an impossible crab quiche. I followed the recipe (with noted changes and poured into an ungreased 9 inch pie pan. I then added 3/4 cup of Bisquick and mixed it up. I baked it for about 45 minutes at 350. It was GREAT and sooooo easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Hess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I added a small amount of green peper, dry mustard, parsley, and old bay seasoning for flavor. I also had montery jack and parmesan cheese handy and mixed that with the swiss cheese for a really great tasting quiche I'll make again. My picky 15 yr. old daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States