Crab 'N Shrimp Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I changed this just a bit, so I can't give it 5 stars. I added 8 ozs. of sour cream to stretch it a bit and make it more creamy. I also add about 2 Tbs. of zesty cocktail sauce and a tablespoon of lemon juice to add the zip other posters said was lacking. I brought it to work for a low-carb potluck and served with whole wheat crackers. Everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
Sorry to say I was not impressed with this recipe. I made it for a dinner party and my friends didn't much care for it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
Very quick and easy - my guests loved it - I spread cocktail sauce over it to add to the seafood flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Horseradish, my friends...about a 1/2 teaspoon. And 1/2 tsp. of cayenne and a couple dashes of tobasco. That'll give it the kick it needs. People were scooping it up with big hunks of bread when I zipped it up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
WE HAD A NEW YEARS EVE PARTY AND WE MADE THIS MOST WONDERFUL CRAB AND SHRIMP DIP( I CALL IT A SPREAD)BUT ANYWAY EVERYONE LOVED IT AND WANTED MORE. SO MY HUSBAND AND I THANK YOU CINDY FOR A GREAT RECIPE AND A GREAT NEW YEAR. LILANG0410
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I made my family guinea pigs with this recipe and soon after it was on the table they were just plain pigs, they ate it all up in no time. Very delicious recipe, well from the bowl scrapings that were left for me it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This turned out really tasty but I made several changes. I blended 8 oz of cream cheese with 1/4 cup of chili sauce as recommended by other reviewers. Added the one green onion and two cans of canned crab instead of just one. I don't like canned shrimp, so I bought 1/2 lb. of fresh and steamed it myself with vinegar and Old Bay, then chopped it up. Other reviewers kept stating this needed a "kick." I think I figured out what is missing - about 1-2 tsp of Old Bay seafood seasoning. This was great served with crackers after chilliing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was pretty good for a recent holiday party, but even with the addition of cocktail sauce, sour cream, and lemon juice it was still a little bland for my taste. Serve with savory crackers. Next time I might try a spicy salsa instead of cocktail sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I make this dip but I use 2 cans of shrimp, a regular small onion chopped fine instead of the green onions and I add seasoning salt (or Trader Joe's 21 seasoning salute if I have it) and course ground pepper. It is always a hit and ends up being the recipe everyone asks for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Very easy to make taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States