Crab 'N Shrimp Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Eydie Oberbeck
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I eliminated the onion because my daughter doesn't like them. It was very thick. Needs acidity. I added salt and pepper. Will add vinegar and maybe some lemon juice next time. It still tasted fresh but just too thick. Put it on top of sliced Portuguese bread. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This was my first time using canned shrimp and canned Bumble Bee crab. I chose this recipe because it was so easy and inexpensive to make, but I found it tasteless. However, I read the reviews and added the horseradish and Tabasco, and that fixed it right up! I also recommend letting the mixture sit in the fridge for a bit to allow the flavors to come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIJANUARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I really like this dipped!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I am living near the Gulf of Mexico. We buy live crabs and boil them in Crab Boil. Crab Boil is all spices which enhance the flavor of the ordinarily bland tasting crab meat. Also, in the boil we add onions and lemons along with small red potatoes and corn on the cob. These veggies also absorb the flavors of the crab boil. The shrimp are done in similar fashion, but boil a lot shorter time. The result is the same. So, whenever I find a recipe that calls for canned seafood, I substitute the home made variety and it turns out well. So folks, use some spices in the recipe and maybe the canned variety will take on a new flavor, as some of you have done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I make this all the time, but I add french dressing, about 2 tbsp and more mayo about 1/2 cup, the french dressing gives it more zip, everyone loves it, its always gone in no time, I usually serve it with chips but crackers would be good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Horseradish, my friends...about a 1/2 teaspoon. And 1/2 tsp. of cayenne and a couple dashes of tobasco. That'll give it the kick it needs. People were scooping it up with big hunks of bread when I zipped it up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This turned out really tasty but I made several changes. I blended 8 oz of cream cheese with 1/4 cup of chili sauce as recommended by other reviewers. Added the one green onion and two cans of canned crab instead of just one. I don't like canned shrimp, so I bought 1/2 lb. of fresh and steamed it myself with vinegar and Old Bay, then chopped it up. Other reviewers kept stating this needed a "kick." I think I figured out what is missing - about 1-2 tsp of Old Bay seafood seasoning. This was great served with crackers after chilliing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I make this dip but I use 2 cans of shrimp, a regular small onion chopped fine instead of the green onions and I add seasoning salt (or Trader Joe's 21 seasoning salute if I have it) and course ground pepper. It is always a hit and ends up being the recipe everyone asks for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
this didn't do well at all on the Christmas appetizer table! I was surprised, it has great ingredients & potential. fam didn't like it, but roommate did, so I was saved from dumping the not-cheap ingredients! might try again, and will jazz it up.. a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Big hit with an all girl cocktail party at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay Center, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States