Crab Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This was pretty good, but I'd say go a bit lighter on the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikdo
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
My girlfriend and I are new to cooking and we found this recipe very easy to make and very good. We added extra crab and egg and used day-old jasmine rice. We also used a sweet yellow onion and didn't really need the extra sugar. We ate with sriracha, asparagus, and Gewurztraminer (which was perhaps a little sweet for the dish). Overall very highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This rice is absolutely fabulous. I eat rice everyday and was looking for something different. I'm amazed at just how good this simple recipe is. I used sesame oil and Jasmine rice. I also drizzled lime juice over the rice after it was finished. I think the cilantro and lime juice are essential. The only thing I will do differently next time is try it with two eggs instead of one. One egg doesn't seem too noticeable in the final dish and I think two will make it more like authentic fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Overall, pretty good fried rice. I think the cilantro is what makes it; this is also what my mom likes to add in hers. I went all out and also chopped up some leftover lobster meat, for that extra bit of color & class. A dash of fish sauce and white pepper, along with some semi-hot peppers, gave it an extra zing that the original recipe lacked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I'm one of those people who hates/loves to cook. It's an obligation but I'm always willing to try some new recipe. I'm glad I tried this one. It was extra tasty and easy to make. I used canned crab meat and it was still a tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
I was very impressed with this. I was skeptical at first, but it really turns out beautifully and tastes fabulous. My fiance who adores fried rice from Chinese restaurants, loved this. I didn't see the point of the lime slices though. I squeezed a little lime juice on mine and it did nothing for the taste... so if you don't have lime for garnish, don't worry about it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
This is now a new favorite!! It's great for the candida diet also. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Very good. And easy to make. And picturesque: all the green of the cilantro, green onions, lime, and cucumber is quite pretty. I've made it three times now, with jasmine. The smell when cooking is great: the scent of the jasmine combined with onions and garlic! mmmm... I have some suggestions though: (1) If you're using dried cilantro, use more like a teaspoon. Dried cilantro is more dense and powerful than fresh, and this recipe calls for a tablespoon of fresh. (I made the mistake of using a tablespoon of dried once and that was way too much.) (2) The cucumbers don't add anything to (and I think even detract from) the flavor; I've skipped adding them after the first time I cooked this. (3) The lime flavor, however, does add something. It goes well, especially with the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I loved this. I changed it to wild organic brown rice, and added more vegetables such as mushrooms, and orange bell peppers, and chopped up celery which I cooked in the oil along with the onions. I then used the mix in tomato wraps to make a delicous wrap. Before wrapping, I took sweet chili sauce (the asian style kind used for chicken) and spread that over the wrap for some zing. It made awesome and well loved wraps!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I thought this was really good and very easy to make! The cilantro adds a nice touch. I made a couple of adjustments- added 1 more egg, and a couple tblsp. of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States