Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This dip was very good, and it made a lot! I took other people's suggestions and added in some sour cream, Old Bay seasoning, lemon juice and a added a little monterrey jack into the dip and and put in on top after the 20 minutes of baking. I received a ton of compliments. I'll make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this for a New Year's Eve party and everyone loved it. It's easy to make and delicious with just crackers. This was the first time I made crab dip, so I took the advice of other reviews and made some minor changes. I didn't reduce the amount of cream cheese but did add a couple of big spoonfuls of sour cream. I also added about a third of a cup of finely shredded colby jack cheese, half a teaspoon of Old Bay, and a half a lemon's worth of lemon juice. Because I also made foccacia bread, I didn't serve this in a bread bowl. People were eating the dip with the bread or with crackers, rolling their eyes and moaning with each bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I did use the other's suggestions to add sour cream, Old Bay and shredded cheese. I think it is a lot of crabmeat and I like seafood. I will make this again, but will likely reduce the amount of crab next time. I amy try this with shrimp too. Good recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette H.
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Excellent!!! My husband took one bite and said "That's good eating". Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rose C.
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
great recipe, I did make a few changes. added a few more spices but over all very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was good, but a little bland. Next time I may kick up the spices a bit. Definitely a "starting point" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Add a tbs. of worchestershire sauce to the mayo/cream cheese. If you don't have an onion, you can use dry onion flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this for Christmas and it was gone fast. My family loved it! I made it a bit differently based on previous customer reviews. I used 8 oz of cream cheese, left out the onions, and sprinkled in some Old Bay seasoning. I also added 1/2 cup of mild shredded cheddar to the mix and topped it with some cheddar before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I followed other suggestions for adding flavor. Didn't have any horseradish but did have ~2 Tblsp. of hot mustard leftover from Chinese the night before. I added it to mix and subbed a cup of plain yogurt instead of sour cream. Came out pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
okay here is the scoop. I tried this recipe just the way it is, I hate it when people just start adding things right away without trying it the T first. It doesn't work. It tastes like mayo. and the bowl gets soggy. so I changed it..lol I used 3 6oz cans of crabmeat, 1 cup sour cream, 2 8oz pkgs of cream cheese, I sauteed 1 half of a white onion with garlic and a tbsp of butter. added all spice, and garlic powder to taste. The secret is adding 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese grated. If I did anything wrong, I didn't add enough salt. I also dashed on some lemon pepper before I served it. I served it cold with Seattle sourdough bread toasted. MMMMMMmmm It was amazing! also used ritz crackers. It was gone in 5 mins and there were only 6 of us. :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cle Elum, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States