Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
meh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Not good with canned crab. It tasted so fishy, despite treating the crab to lemon juice. I think I will try this with fresh imitation crab, as real crab is expensive in my area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is an easy and tasty appetizer to make and bring to a party. I did make a few adjustments to the recipe. I used whipped cream cheese instead of the regular cream cheese. I also chopped up a scallion instead of an onion. Instead of the Italian bread I used Hawaiian bread which has a sweeter taste to it. Have received many compliments and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I would have given it a higher rating if I hadn't changed it so much. I used a pound of fresh backfin crabmeat, 8oz cream cheese, 1 cup mayo, and one cup sour cream. I sauteed a half onion with four cloves of minced fresh garlic before I mixed it in with everything else. I also added a tbls of Old Bay seasoning and topped it off with some shredded cheese. With those tweaks it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
We took some of the suggestions and added some cayenne and lemon juice to this dip. We also mixed in Kraft triple cheddar shredded cheese. Great dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
like others, I added some seasonings and some shredded cheddar cheese on top and it was fabulous. I used canned crab meat because that's what I had on hand but will try with fresh crab meat as well. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This dip was very bland. It was better when I added some spices, but I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Connersville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Thanks for the recipe! I made it for a birthday party and it seemed great until I tasted it and there was a bit too much onion. I personally don't like uncooked onion and even though it was baked it still had that hard crunch of the onion to it. Next time i will dramatically reduce the amount of onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I dumbed this recipe down quite a bit, and it was still superb! Things I did differently: used fully cooked leftover imitation crabmeat, fat-free cream cheese, light mayonnaise, added in some chopped green bell pepper, and completely ignored the baking component and served this as a cold dip. It got several compliments from everyone!! I served this with Hawaiian rolls and crescent rolls, and it went over splendidly as an appetizer. And I literally threw it together with in 10 minutes. Just wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lchoward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Using Noelle's suggestions, this crab dip is very good. I also HIGHLY suggest not using canned crab, unless you are in an area where that is all you can get. As a Marylander, canned crab is a travesty. I use the good stuff--lump crab meat. Definitely serve this warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lrconner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States