Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I made this for my boyfriend. He's a crab-lover, as am I, and we've had several crab dips in our time. We both approve of this version! Great for any crab lover. If you want the crab to be more prominent, leave out some of the cream cheese or add some extra crab. I used Miracle Whip instead of mayonnaise, but it had a weird sweet taste, so I would recommend the mayo. I added Worcestershire sauce and paprika to this. I also replaced a little less than half the cream cheese with mozzarella and cheddar cheese. Added great depth of flavor! I think with just cream cheese it would've been too thick. Because I was cooking other things at the same time, I had the oven a little higher and didn't cook it for quite as long. I topped it with some cheddar cheese, and baked it uncovered until the last 10 minutes, when I took the lid off to allow the cheese to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Made it with fresh crab for the first football game of the season, the boys ate it up! They didn't have room for dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Such a simple and good recipe! Added a lot of crab that I had around (probably more than called for in recipe). Also added a little more garlic powder, fresh diced jalapenos and bacon. Topped with white sharp cheddar cheese after everything was in the bread bowl and after 10 minutes in oven in the bread bowl, broiled for a few minutes. So addicting, we could not stop eating this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Very good, I too modified this by adding 8 oz sour cream, 2 teaspoons Old Bay seasoning, a few dashes (to taste) of cholula, and approximately 1/4 cup chopped scallions. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rasmusskl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I loved it! I followed the recipe but added a little Old Bay and topped with Cayenne pepper. Will definitley make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Best crab dip ever! However, I only use fresh crabmeat....I know it is expensive, but it elevates the recipe to a new level to use fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I was so excited to try this recipe! The only thing that I changed when I initially made it was the addition of lemon to the crab as many reviewers suggested, but unfortunately, it still tasted way fishy, and it didn't have any other flavor. I ended up adding about 8 oz. of sharp cheddar cheese, an additional 8 ounces of sour cream, about two tablespoons of Old Bay, some fresh cracked pepper, additional garlic, and a 2 additional tablespoons of mayonnaise. It was definitely more edible, but it was completely different than the original recipe. I don't know if it was just the particular crab that I bought, but I found that the crab was way overwhelming, and it was a little bland. I served it in a sourdough bread bowl. I wanted so badly to love this.. the reviews are so good! I think I might try it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Fast & Easy...Everyone loved this dip! Only thing I do different is use cayenne pepper instead of hot sauce and add old bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Thanks for a great recipe. Just served it at a baby shower and it was a hit. I read other reviews and added about 1/4 cup of sour cream and 1 tsp. of Old Bay seasoning. This was delicious warm in a bread bowl with toasted pita triangles, and also chilled, though very thick. Thought it would be great on a bagel, but there wasn't any left to try! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Selah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Turned out wonderful. Entire family devoured this dip that I put in a multigrain bread bowl. I added shredded cheddar cheese & used the best canned crab meat available at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENJC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley Springs, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Piffard, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States