Crab Delights Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Well of course after reading the book and watching the movie The Silver Linings Playbook, I had to try the Crabby Snacks recipe that was talked about so much in the book. Great recipe and great book! Want to try adding crumbled bacon to the top of these. Deceptively easy and simplistic, but some of the ingredients are spendy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This was awesome! I've been trying to figure out my Super Bowl menu by trying out recipes at other games, and this was a smash hit! My family devoured this - next time, I'll probably need to double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I make this recipe often and it always gets rave reviews. I use Kraft Old English Cheese in the small jar for the cheese. That's what my original recipe called for and it works out great, though a little pricey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Awesome! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I remember something like this from my childhood, but this didn't quite do it for me. It's lacking flavor. I did use shredded cheese instead of the jarred stuff and maybe that makes a huge difference. I kind of want to try again, with jarred cheese and maybe some horseradish or something for depth and a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate GR
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I had this can of crabmeat in my cupboard for literally months and needed something to do with it, so I figured I would give this a try. Very simple recipe. But, after reading a few reviews, and taking stock of what was is my kitchen, I altered things to my taste and what I had on hand. First, I used more butter (6 tablespoons) and less mayo (1 large tablespoon), partly based on how much I had of each, and partly based on a couple of reviews using more butter. I had a good portion of a loaf of French bread left over, so I sliced that and toasted it in the oven while I mixed the topping. We like to cook with fresh or minced garlic as opposed to the dry spices, so I used about 2 teaspoons of minced garlic from a jar (we like it garlic-y). I added about 1/8 teaspoon sea salt (approximated from a grinder). I know quite a few people recommend Old English in the jar as the cheese spread, but being a Western New Yorker, I am very fond of the Helluva Good brand. Either way that's what I had, so that's what I went with. Used dried parsley. And finally I added a few shakes of Old Bay seasoning for a bit of flavor and good measure. It is crab after all. I topped the french bread slices, baked it for 13 minutes and broiled it for the last 2. Wow! That was an easy and amazing result. My husband, who is not fond of crab, even said he liked it when he was given a slice. That is really saying something. It has good flavor with my alterations, but the crab flavor still comes through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate GR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I"ve been making this for years. My Ex loved it as the recipe stated...my boyfriend likes things a little spicy so I added a dash of Franks Red Hot Sauce and some pepper flakes. I have rated this recipe as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Very bland will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Mega tasty! Doesnt taste fishy at all. I used shredded cheese instead of processed and used wayy too much by accident but now i know for next time. Also, put it on whole wheat bread cuz i dont buy english muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rumson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
my family has made these for years at not only family gatherings, but gatherings with friends and others. they have always been an amazing hit! i suggest instead of just some old processed cheese spread, to use a jar of Kraft Old English Cheddar Cheese Spread per can of crab meat. also old bay seasoning is also great in the mix! hope you love them as much as i do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States