Crab Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by brandie
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
So yummy instead of adding Serrano peppers I added cucumber
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was good but very spicy for my taste it overpowered everything I would use 2 peppers the next time and cut them by hand in little pieces not in a processor to maintain texture. It still was very good, just not for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Rockstar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Used some suggestions from other reviewers, substituting jalapeno peppers for the Serrano peppers. Also added fresh avocado to cut the heat a little. Felt the juice from two full limes overpowered the taste and will cut back the next time we make it. Very refreshing taste, but the imitation crab was a little overwhelmed. Served with some hard sourdough rolls to scoop up the ceviche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Loved this recipe! I'd never had ceviche before, let alone prepared it. So easy! I didn't include the Serrano peppers because I'm sensitive to heat but it was still very flavorful. Also I took the advice of another reviewer and wrapped it in a warm tortilla for a hearty lunch. Delicious! Will be making lots more ceviche in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hyperboarder
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I realized too late I didn't have olive oil so I cheated and used soybean (generic vegetable) oil instead. I don't know how much it affected it as I haven't had the olive oil version, but man is this a good recipe. I chopped the crab up pretty small and served it with some easy homemade "guacamole" (3 avocados, a big splash of salsa and some lime juice) on top of crispy heated pitas. Sliced with a pizza cutter they are phenomenal, great for lunch, dinner, or a snack. I used fake crab and though I'm sure it'd be great with the real thing, no complaints here. The recipe is also pretty sizable, my wife and I have had the ceviche "pizzas" twice now and I had some as a snack today and we've still got a lot left, easy enough for a full meal. I agree this should be served nice and cold, but it's not bad as it warms up a bit. Very solid recipe for pretty cheap, highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
It was incredibly easy to make. I used only half an onion and one serrano pepper. This is so delicious and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I do the same but I don't use olive oil or serrano peppers. I mix the crabmeat tomato cilantro a little onions. Mix it all good put a little bit of tomato ketchup and mix it. Than if they want lime and hot sauce (we use valentina the yellow label) we add it to our tostadas. Trust me its really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I adore ceviche but my best friend doesn't care for raw fish, even if it's "cooked" in citrus, so I thought this would be a great compromise when she asked me to make an appetizer for Easter Dinner. First of all, what I like to taste is ceviche is fish, then lime juice, then spiciness. As written, this recipe reverses that. And I could tell that it would be too hot for my taste so I replaced the Serrano peppers with a medium sized jalapeno. I also used lovely fresh crab meat - so you'd think it would have been really good . But basically it tasted like slightly spicy crab salad without the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Great tasting and beautiful coloring, suggest if possible lump crab sold in costco. More expensive but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
My entire family cant get enough of this! I added a little extra lime. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States