Crab Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I absolutely loved this recipe (and, to my surprise, my husband did, too!) I made just a few changes, but nothing major - used part mayo and part sour cream (and probably more than called for, but I wasn't measuring.) I didn't have any shrimp, so I used all crab. Finally, no bread crumbs so I used shredded cheese on top. I left out the celery because the hubby isn't a fan, but the Worcestershire sauce and ketchup gave it plenty of flavor. I will certainly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
I modified this recipe quite a bit and it turned out wonderful. No noodles. Instead of mayo, 1/2 cup of non fat sour cream and 1/4 cup of non fat mayo. Instead of bell peppers, I put asparagus (asparagus and shrimp are a no-miss combination). Yummy and extra low cal, witout the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This recipe is fabulous with a little more oomph. I added a tsp. of Old Bay and a dash of paprika and hot sauce, and added about a cup or so of blanched asparagus. I also used some larger cocktail shrimp instead of canned because I had them at hand. I can't wait to make this for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I thought that this recipe was very tasty. I followed someone elses idea and did add some sour cream to it. Very easy to make and my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I modified this recipe, and added california blend vegetbles and shredded colby-jack cheese. It went really well with (Villa Mt. Edan Pinot Noir), Crusty Italian bread with honey butter, and a salad of mixed greens tossed with fresh berries (strawberries, raspberries and blueberries) with a rasberry vingerette. My girlfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
It was delicious!!! i put more crab meat and 2 cans of tiny shrimp.Also i added table spoons of sour cream. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klaipeda, Klaipedos Apskritis, Lithuania
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
I agree that it was a little dry even though I added more mayo and some mustard. I put some horseradish in too. My family all agreed there was too much celery. I added some cheddar on top. I think it needs some sour cream or something to kind of bring everything together and make it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I very rarely have casseroles ( once in the last decade ). After reading the various critiques I doctored up the recipe to include more noodles, mayo, worchestershire sauce, ketchup, and onions. I added four times the amount of shrimp and cut back on the crab meat ( didn't have as much on hand ). I added a liberal amounts of hot sauce and paprika and one cup of sour cream. Contrary to some other opinions I didn't find this dry at all. It was moist, tasty and flavorful as far as casseroles go. The green peppers were fine and not crunchy. I crumbled croutons from a dressing box over the top. A good recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This was a three when I first made it but the next day I had spoonful from the fridge as an after-work snack. This recipe is really good cold the next day. I have to be honest and say its not on my main course rotation any longer but it is on my cold pasta salad sides list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Attleborough, Norfolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
We enjoyed this recipe. Only deviated very slightly from the recipe, added about 1/3 cup light sour cream in addition to the mayo and also some old bay seasoning and an extra teaspoon of worcestershire sauce. It was pretty yummy, everyone here liked it and had seconds. We didn't have canned shrimp so just used some frozen shrimp instead. For the bread crumbs we used seasoned panko bread crumbs - very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States