Crab Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
I modified this recipe quite a bit and it turned out wonderful. No noodles. Instead of mayo, 1/2 cup of non fat sour cream and 1/4 cup of non fat mayo. Instead of bell peppers, I put asparagus (asparagus and shrimp are a no-miss combination). Yummy and extra low cal, witout the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2000
Taste more wild if replace bread crumb topping with a layer of Swiss cheese and sprinkle the top with raw green onion after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
Very good - easy to make. My husband loved it. The kids weren't thrilled however.....but they're hard to please. Next time I'll try crabmeat from the deli vs the canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
I was disappointed when I tasted it. It was very bland. A friend suggested putting some melted butter and lemon on it, and with quite a bit of salt and pepper it was good. I would make it again, but modify it more, maybe some lemon pepper seasoning and some non fat sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I very rarely have casseroles ( once in the last decade ). After reading the various critiques I doctored up the recipe to include more noodles, mayo, worchestershire sauce, ketchup, and onions. I added four times the amount of shrimp and cut back on the crab meat ( didn't have as much on hand ). I added a liberal amounts of hot sauce and paprika and one cup of sour cream. Contrary to some other opinions I didn't find this dry at all. It was moist, tasty and flavorful as far as casseroles go. The green peppers were fine and not crunchy. I crumbled croutons from a dressing box over the top. A good recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
I agree that it was a little dry even though I added more mayo and some mustard. I put some horseradish in too. My family all agreed there was too much celery. I added some cheddar on top. I think it needs some sour cream or something to kind of bring everything together and make it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
I found casserole to be very dry and bland. Not much flavor although I like all the things that are in it. This would not be one of my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Didn't like this at all. I notice most reviews had doctored it up greatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I modified this recipe, and added california blend vegetbles and shredded colby-jack cheese. It went really well with (Villa Mt. Edan Pinot Noir), Crusty Italian bread with honey butter, and a salad of mixed greens tossed with fresh berries (strawberries, raspberries and blueberries) with a rasberry vingerette. My girlfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This was a three when I first made it but the next day I had spoonful from the fridge as an after-work snack. This recipe is really good cold the next day. I have to be honest and say its not on my main course rotation any longer but it is on my cold pasta salad sides list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Attleborough, Norfolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States