Crab Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Definitely needs more mayo & next time I'll leave off the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justuravrgchic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I absolutely loved this recipe (and, to my surprise, my husband did, too!) I made just a few changes, but nothing major - used part mayo and part sour cream (and probably more than called for, but I wasn't measuring.) I didn't have any shrimp, so I used all crab. Finally, no bread crumbs so I used shredded cheese on top. I left out the celery because the hubby isn't a fan, but the Worcestershire sauce and ketchup gave it plenty of flavor. I will certainly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
We enjoyed this recipe. Only deviated very slightly from the recipe, added about 1/3 cup light sour cream in addition to the mayo and also some old bay seasoning and an extra teaspoon of worcestershire sauce. It was pretty yummy, everyone here liked it and had seconds. We didn't have canned shrimp so just used some frozen shrimp instead. For the bread crumbs we used seasoned panko bread crumbs - very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I modified this recipe, and added california blend vegetbles and shredded colby-jack cheese. It went really well with (Villa Mt. Edan Pinot Noir), Crusty Italian bread with honey butter, and a salad of mixed greens tossed with fresh berries (strawberries, raspberries and blueberries) with a rasberry vingerette. My girlfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This was a three when I first made it but the next day I had spoonful from the fridge as an after-work snack. This recipe is really good cold the next day. I have to be honest and say its not on my main course rotation any longer but it is on my cold pasta salad sides list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Attleborough, Norfolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I very rarely have casseroles ( once in the last decade ). After reading the various critiques I doctored up the recipe to include more noodles, mayo, worchestershire sauce, ketchup, and onions. I added four times the amount of shrimp and cut back on the crab meat ( didn't have as much on hand ). I added a liberal amounts of hot sauce and paprika and one cup of sour cream. Contrary to some other opinions I didn't find this dry at all. It was moist, tasty and flavorful as far as casseroles go. The green peppers were fine and not crunchy. I crumbled croutons from a dressing box over the top. A good recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Didn't like this at all. I notice most reviews had doctored it up greatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I made this dish for a buffet and did change it a bit. I used a dash of hotpepper, used red bell pepper instead of green, and used imitation crab meat. It needed a little spicing up so I also added cheese and crushed crackers for a topper. It went over well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This just didn't do it for us. Per others' suggestions, I added sour cream, and hot sauce. Not a lot of flavor for us, and I found the green pepper to be just a little too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Sorry to be honest, but it was an unpleasant dish to my family. Too rich, too much celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States