Crab Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
As a personal chef, I may try a dozen or so recipes before I settle on one to present to a customer. This is where I stop on crab cakes! These are the best I've ever had. A better name would be crab burgers. Make sure to use lump meat because they really just hold themselves together. And the dipping sauce is wonderful. My husband made me make them two nights in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I have finally found a winning crab cake recipe. These crab cakes are incredible. It has the perfect amount of filling to crab ratio, which for me is you barely taste filling and all crab. I made a few adjustments; used Ritz Crackers, sauteed a very small amount of onions/celery/garlic, added a little cayenne and crushed red pepper. I mixed everything e except the crab meat and put that in last and just turned with a spatula so I didn't break the lumps. After forming the crab cakes, I topped each with a little extra old bay seasoning. For crab I used Blue Star pasteurized lump crab meat in the packet, it was very good. I have no opinion on the sauce as I like a sweeter sauce, so I went with the Honey Mustard II another poster suggested, with some adjustments it was excellent as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
Great recipe. I found that you don't need the egg if you prefer them w/o. Forming the cakes into balls first and flattening once the first side begins to brown is essential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LILMOMMASGIRL
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Great crab cakes! A true "non filler" crab cake. Only thing I did different is added crushed red pepper (I like it Hot!) If you've never made these before, I'd advise you to choose this receipe! ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILMOMMASGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: North Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
I've been living in New England for a year and enjoying the local seafood. Who knew the best crab cakes I've tasted would come right from my own kitchen! The taste of crab really shines through in this recipe (not like some I've had that are more seasoning than seafood) and the lime/cilantro mayo is the perfect accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
These were great just as everyone suggested. I used two 16oz plastic tubs of crab meat chunks and combined with two 12oz cans of crab meat - all for under $10. I added a few extra spices for a bit of extra kick including 2x the Old Bay seasoning, and a dash of powdered garlic, crushed red peppers and pepper. I also added fresh diced sweet onion and red pepper to "hearten" the cakes for a main dish. Rather than sauting, I opted to broil until the cakes were golden brown on both sides. The cakes held together fine and tasted perfectly; they even had a bit of a crunch. The sauce was a perfect compliment to the cakes - although be forewarned, the sauce doesnt taste very well on its own. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Yes, these were good/great crabcakes. In fact, had I not tasted the Ginger Crabcakes, another recipe on this site that "takes the cake" (it is AWESOME), I would have given these a 5. The sauce was not so much a hit, tho it did add a little "something" to tantilize the taste buds...just not worth the trouble or calories. The best thing about the recipe was that it did in fact have only little filler, so what you get is crab, crab, and more crab. Refrigerating it as suggested is imperitive; otherwise, they will crumble. Wish I could give 4 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Awesome!!! These were the best crab cakes that I have ever had!! I must admit I did make some changes, I added about 1/2 cup each of fresh chopped celery and onion, and about 1 teaspoon of garlic powder. And I broiled them for about 10 to 12 minutes, and they were the most wonderful crab cakes! My husband and son really enjoyed them. (The celery stayed a little crunchy, which my husband liked). Will certainly keep this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
Loved them.. I made a lime aoili to go with it. Yum-Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
I made these for a wedding reception last night! (25 people) They were absolutely perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States