Crab Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
this was an over all good recipe. I used crushed ritz crackers instead of saltines. I like the buttery taste of the ritz. Also, the amount of lime juice in the sauce needs to be scaled back by about half. Otherwise the sauce becomes too sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Good base for crab cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
GREAT! I cut the recipe in half, added one more egg and more crackers. YOU MUST let them sit in the refrigerator and get cold then they will stay together when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
crab cakes were good, but the sauce was a little strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
These crab cakes are phenomenal. Having been born and raised in Baltimore, I have tasted many crab cakes in my day, and this recipe is definitely up to par by my standards. My only suggestion is to make sure that jumbo lump meat is used, and to throw in just a bit more old bay than the recipe calls for. I enjoyed this recipe and would absolutely reccomend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
At first I didn't think that anyone else had problems with this dish. I had to search through all 1,000+ ratings in reverse order to see that others had my results too. The crab cake was lacking egg and cracker crumbs and ended up just falling apart. I used to make crab cakes fresh after catching/cleaning with my parents back home in WA, but now in TN I tried using pre-cleaned store bought. I don't know if it's a difference in the fresh v. frozen texture or truly the lack of egg+cracker. All I know is that right now I'm making the worst crab stir fry ever. This did NOT take on the cake form for me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurricaneSoccer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Delicious! I was nervous to make crab cakes for the first time but this recipe made it so easy. I only made half the recipe, including "half an egg". I used canned special white crabmeat which worked well, crushed saltines in food processor, and eyeballed the seasonings. I baked in the oven at 400 degrees until lightly browned on both sides. Dolloped cakes with red pepper sauce found on this site, which was also wonderful. Served with green salad and cheese grits. Definitely a crowd pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I made this easy recipe last week for my wife's family reunion on the outer banks. so easy, almost effortless, and right on delicious crabcakes. thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefct

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Whitesboro, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turtlemom76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
AWESOME recipe! Have made this many, many times! My friends love to come eat when we make these. I do however add a bit of spice brown mustard & a dash of tabasco. We also broil them instead of fried, not as greasy! I also use Vegetable Ritz crackers adds some extra color! Thanks so much for this recipe they are surely a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States