Crab Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Awesome. Love them so much that I can't order crab cakes out to eat anymore because they wont stand up to this recipe. I once screwed them up because I didn't have any vegetable oil and substituted olive oil, big mistake as the cakes wont hold their shape and turns into a plate of mush. Otherwise perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrToesterMAN
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
this was Great!! i decided to do a half and half mixture with it... i did everything by what it said beside the crab... i used half crab and half clams that i had from my summer digging. came out GREAT! i loved them and so did my wife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrToesterMAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I made these yesterday and they came out soft in the center but still firm on the outside. I changed the spicy part for garam masala - an Indian spice - and it was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Excellent recipe! My kids and I enjoyed them a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
My family and I were very happy with these crab cakes! I am a beginning cook and this was my first time making crab cakes, but they still were a major hit. My older cousin said that she has had many crab cakes and this was one of the best ones she had ever had. She noted that they were especially light, as opposed to an overly rich and heaven (mayo-laden) crab cake. A few things I should note: I used 6 cans of lump crab meat (drained weight was 27 oz.). I combined this with 1/2 c. mayo and 1/2 cup of crushed crackers, as well as the seasoning, an egg, and lemon zest. this ended up making 8 fairly large crab cakes. We ate half of them just a little after shaping them (a few hrs setting in the fridge) and the we ate other half the next day for lunch. The ones we had the next day at lunch had a distinct lemon flavor, while that's not something that was prominent the previous night. I suppose that the lemon zest took on more flavor as it sat overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
These melt in your mouth. I would love to rate this a 5 but I changed the recipe. I only used 1 Lbs Crab Meat (enough for 2), just squeezed a little bit of lemon juice, about 1/4 teaspoon plus 1/8 teaspoon of Old Bay (I will add more next time), 12 saltine crackers, 1/8 cup of mayo and about 2 tbsp of mustard. Then a small dash of garlic powder and pepper. I actually made this early in the day only adding 8 crackers, then put the mix in fridge. Right before I started cooking, I made the patties and I added the 4 last crackers. *I did not make the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFischer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I have no idea what went wrong. I followed the recipe EXACTLY and the cakes completly fell apart. When I decided to give up and just have "crab cake mash" I had trouble getting the concontion to heat throughly. I still consider myself a beginner, so it was probably my fault, not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This recipe was wonderful. I also took the suggestion of others and added some finely chopped onion, celery, and garlic to the mix. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
DANG!!!!! We craved these again the next day! Have to admit, though, I used the imitation crab meat blend from the fridge section of the store and shredded the chunks really well. Nobody knew and it was very cost-effective. Outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I somehow messed this up. It was mushy on the inside(not sure if it is supposed to be that way) and fell apart. The sauce was great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States