Crab Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This was just wonderful! For the batter, we dipped in an egg wash. Then tossed in a mixture of flour, bread crumbs, old bay and a 5 pepper seasoning. Saltine crackers were added in both the crab mix and batter.Next time I might try in peanut oil. Fantastic recipe ! ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
great flavor even though I couldn't find real crab meat and had to use imitation crab. I couldn't get them to stay together in a patty shape when I cooked them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
We liked this recipe, my husband had requested crab cakes and was very happy with these. We used lump crab. I know the recipe is meant to have very little filler, but I found these were kind of falling apart in the pan, I my add a little more filler next time to make them stick together a bit better. Also the sauce was very good, I was unsure about the raw eggs but we liked it. I only made 4 cakes and less sauce, so I actually whisked it by hand and that worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Awesome recipe. Love the amount of crab meat and little filling. However, my patties fell apart when cooking in pan so I had to add more egg, ritz crackers, and mayonnaise to the original mixture (almost doubled recipe). Then the patties stayed together for the cooking. You might also want to add more Old Bay seasoning for more flavor in case your guests do not like the dipping sauce. Very delicious recipe for the crab cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I used two 1 lb cans of claw meat and then four smaller cans of diced meat and added 1/8 tsp extra of old bay, 1/4 tsp cayenne, 1/2 cup diced celery and onion and about another 1/2 cup of crackers just to try to get it to hold together. I made them into small balls and rolled in panko crumbs before frying. Next time will make with only the two large cans of meat as the smaller ones were too watery and the recipe just made too many servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Kelli makes these. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Oh my goodness. Every time my wife and I are invited to a party I ALWAYS bring something new to munch on. I will be bringing this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven DeJong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Very nice, simple recipe, easy and quick to prepare, and delicious - what more could you want? You may experiment with proportions and different ingredients to your heart's content!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by f00dme

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Super tasty! Just make sure for me next time to use right amount of mayo and egg to keep the cake sticking together. Herbs really come out on this one! Sauce = not very good and not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Delores McCarter
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Oh my goodness. These were great! It's a good thing that I put the rest of them in the refrigerator. I served one with talapia and veggies but I would have loved to have a second one tonight. I am impressed. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delores McCarter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States