Crab Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
I scaled the recipe first off to 8 servings and made exactly as stated with the exception of using only 1/2 the amount of crab meat the recipe called for, which was plenty. I found frozen crab meat at the fish market for $10/pound, which is all I used. I did find the "Honey Mustard Dressing II" recipe off this website to be a better dipping sauce than the one listed in the recipe. Everyone preferred it, especially the kids. I did think the cakes needed a little more spicing up and next time will add more seasoning - especially some garlic! Thanks for the post! 4.5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
I prepared this recipe as an appetizer for a dinner we were having with friends and everyone loved it. I would definitely make it again. Even though the crab cakes were delicious on their own, the sauce makes them even more delectable. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlac

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
A bit time consuming to make, in fact, I skipped making the sauce completely. But very good. Everyone at my party raved about them. However, this recipe calls for 4 lbs crabmeat, which was ridiculous at $21/lb. I only used 1 lb and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Absolutely perfect! I used dried basil and it still came out well. I "pasteurized" the egg yolk for the sauce by briefly (about a minute) dipping it into "just boiled water (somewhere between 70-90F).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
These crab cakes are amazing-probably the best I have ever had! I used light mayo and it did not make a difference. I tasted the sauce by itself and thought it was just ok but it is absolutely delicious on the crab cakes. Make sure you use real lump crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
As a personal chef, I may try a dozen or so recipes before I settle on one to present to a customer. This is where I stop on crab cakes! These are the best I've ever had. A better name would be crab burgers. Make sure to use lump meat because they really just hold themselves together. And the dipping sauce is wonderful. My husband made me make them two nights in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Yes, these were good/great crabcakes. In fact, had I not tasted the Ginger Crabcakes, another recipe on this site that "takes the cake" (it is AWESOME), I would have given these a 5. The sauce was not so much a hit, tho it did add a little "something" to tantilize the taste buds...just not worth the trouble or calories. The best thing about the recipe was that it did in fact have only little filler, so what you get is crab, crab, and more crab. Refrigerating it as suggested is imperitive; otherwise, they will crumble. Wish I could give 4 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
I've been living in New England for a year and enjoying the local seafood. Who knew the best crab cakes I've tasted would come right from my own kitchen! The taste of crab really shines through in this recipe (not like some I've had that are more seasoning than seafood) and the lime/cilantro mayo is the perfect accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
I made these for a wedding reception last night! (25 people) They were absolutely perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
Great recipe. I found that you don't need the egg if you prefer them w/o. Forming the cakes into balls first and flattening once the first side begins to brown is essential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States