Crab Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by LILMOMMASGIRL
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Great crab cakes! A true "non filler" crab cake. Only thing I did different is added crushed red pepper (I like it Hot!) If you've never made these before, I'd advise you to choose this receipe! ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILMOMMASGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: North Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
The family loved it. Next time I will lessen the spices. I also used panko crumbs instead of crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
First time making crabcakes. I thought they were excellent, and they got rave reviews from the rest of the family. Would have been just as excellent without the sauce (for those of you who are made a little nervous by raw egg yolk, like I am).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This recipe was great, but I would not buy fresh crab for this dish-unless you want to go broke. I'd use others suggestions next time and make it with canned crab. I liked the crunchiness from the crackers and the real crab taste you preserved (the filling wasn't overpowering like most crab cake recipes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dalton, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Awesome!!! These were the best crab cakes that I have ever had!! I must admit I did make some changes, I added about 1/2 cup each of fresh chopped celery and onion, and about 1 teaspoon of garlic powder. And I broiled them for about 10 to 12 minutes, and they were the most wonderful crab cakes! My husband and son really enjoyed them. (The celery stayed a little crunchy, which my husband liked). Will certainly keep this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Very good, tasty recipe. I used fresh crab from my seafood market and then prepared teh cakes using a round cookie mold for consistent cakes. The only reason this got four stars was because of the high price.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by david4ania

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
These were great just as everyone suggested. I used two 16oz plastic tubs of crab meat chunks and combined with two 12oz cans of crab meat - all for under $10. I added a few extra spices for a bit of extra kick including 2x the Old Bay seasoning, and a dash of powdered garlic, crushed red peppers and pepper. I also added fresh diced sweet onion and red pepper to "hearten" the cakes for a main dish. Rather than sauting, I opted to broil until the cakes were golden brown on both sides. The cakes held together fine and tasted perfectly; they even had a bit of a crunch. The sauce was a perfect compliment to the cakes - although be forewarned, the sauce doesnt taste very well on its own. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
PRETTY DARN GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
These were tasty, but a little too bland for a 5* rating. I added a bit of red pepper, which helped. I do, though, love how these taste like crab, not filler. The sauce was great and a perfect addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
Made this and everyone loved it. My daughter is now rquesting that I make it for her birthday dinner, that won't happen for another 6 months. I used 3 pounds of crabmeat instead of 4 and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States