Crab Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe, though I did add 1/2 tsp Old Bay, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper and a clove of minced garlic. The only reason it doesn't get five stars is because they fell apart. I used imitation crab meat and chopped it with a food chopper. I did not use all the oil it called for. I just poured some in the pan and fried them like pancakes. They were so tasty my husband asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Used imitation crab in place of real, saltine crackers in place of buttery round. Added some dill & cajun seasoning. I also double dipped with crackers. Put them in crackers as instructed then quickly dipped in an egg mixture and re-coated with cracker. Served with corn fritters, Pillsbury southern style bisquits and southern style gravy, as well as some cajun red beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Very good. Instead of making them large size, make them into little patties for a party hors d'overs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missthang8124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This recipe was nothing exceptional. The cakes didn't stick together for anything, and the taste was only so so. I hated it, my husband thought it was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
So the crab cakes didn't hold together very well when we were making them, but they sure were tasty! I used canned crab since fresh is hard to come by here and requires a lot of work, and achieved similar results. Don't use a lot of oil, they'll only fall apart easier, and that aspect of this recipe really wasn't necessary. Just a bit of butter/margarine in the bottom of the pan is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Authentic Eastern Shore taste. Added a bit more Worcestershire sauce and also some Old Bay. I find that refrigerating breaded items helps them stay together. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I'm sorry but I just really did not enjoy these crab cakes very much at all. I used fresh crab meat that had been packaged at my grocery store so it had the consistency of tunafish. I thought this would work out well since several members commented on the patties not wanting to stay together. I also added the Old Bay seasoning like others suggested. I didnt have any problems with the patties not staying together, but I just didn't like the taste of these at all. I want a recipe that has some sort of stuffing inside. These tasted kind of bland and I think with the stuffing you get a variety of flavors (not just all crab meat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I couldn't find fresh crab and used imitation. It needed to be run through a food processor or something (which I don't have). Otherwise delicious. Disappeared in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This was a big hit with my husband. He said he wished he hadn't eaten earlier so he could eat more. I did add a little extra worcestershire, a couple tsp. of lime juice, & a little Old Bay. They held together just fine once the first side was done. This will be added to my regular meal rotation! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This was my first time making crab cakes and I must say they had a great flavor and browned very nicely. I was expecting something with a store-bought flavor, but they were MUCH better. I did have some trouble keeping them together and added another egg and a few more crackers along with the juice of half a lemon. Delicious - I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Cibolo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States