Crab Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I like a minimal amount of filler in my crab cakes but I was disappointed that no crumbs at all were used in this recipe to bind the crab mixture. It was easy enough to remedy, of course, but in my view it should have been included. I used finely crushed saltine crackers, maybe 1/3 cup, just enough to hold those luscious HUGE chunks of lump crabmeat together. I liked the addition of the mustard and I liked the omission of Old Bay Seasoning, so common in other crab cake recipes, even better. In my opinion it only detracts from the taste of very expensive lump crab. I added a tablespoon of melted butter to the crab mixture for extra richness. I packed the crab cakes firmly before coating them in Japanese panko bread crumbs. I did not use high heat. I wanted to be sure the crab cakes were cooked and heated through before the crumb coating became too dark. Medium to medium-high heat worked well. These were awesome. Big chunks of crab, little filler, minimal additions and seasonings make all the difference in the world for perfect crab cakes. To complement and garnish them I plated them with "Avocado-Mango Salsa," and "Mustard Cream Sauce," recipes also from this site, and a few leaves of arugula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I picked this crab cake recipe because I wanted a CRAB cake, not a crab and breadcrumb cake, and this recipe seemed to fit the bill. I used these ingredients, although I wanted a little more flavor so used a teaspoon of Worcestershire and a teaspoon of ground mustard and a few tablespoons of fresh parsley for the color. The only thing I really changed was the order of putting this together. I think that the best crab cakes have lumps of crab, not shredded bits of crab, so to achieve this I whisked together the egg, mayo, seasonings and then folded in the crab. Then I rolled the crab into 1/4 cup balls and refrigerated for about half hour while I got the rest of dinner together. Then I rolled some of the balls in Ritz cracker crumbs, and some in Panko, honestly I couldn't tell the difference, so will use Panko next time as it is much easier. I fried them in two batches in a mix of 1T olive oil and 1T butter per batch. You have to be careful putting them in and flipping them, but the flavor of the crab really comes through and makes it worth the extra care.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is a great recipe. The crackers added a crispy factor that you can't get from bread crumbs. Simple and delicous, which makes the crab stand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Rogers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Quite appetizing, left me wanting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennysslife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Excellent! I only did two tiny little tweaks - not based on any shortcoming in the recipe, but just on personal preference. I added a couple TBS of very finely chopped celery, and about 1/8 of a tsp of cayenne...just for a little pop! Loved them...even my "crab neutral" husband liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HopeLivzOn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Very good crab cakes, added a pinch more mayo, and only needed about 8 ritz crackers that I crumbled directly in as the last ingredient. then refrigerated the mixture for about a half an hour, allowed for better patty making. 2-3 mins per side in canola oil. and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Not a fan. Couldnt come by fresh crab and cakes fell apart in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
First I would like to say that I have never made crab cakes before. This recipe is supper easy and very good. I used more mustard than the recipe called for. I also made a spicy mayo as a topping. (Just mayo, cayanne, and paprika adjust to your taste - I like mine hot). I would recomend this recipe to any first time makers. This is a can't miss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bensenville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
The first review on this recipe confused me as I couldn't figure out where they got breadcrumbs from, unless they meant the crakers. . . ??? Anyway this was a perfect pair for my husbands birthday steak dinner! He said they were the best crab cakes he's ever had! The majority of this recipe is crab meat so the end result is basically lump crab meat with a crispy outside! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracieT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Felt that these cakes left a LOT to be desired. Out of the four cakes, only one didn't crumble in the pan. From the bits that I did eat, I noticed that there was a total lack of flavor - not something I was prepared for going off the rave reviews. Good starting recipe but not something I'd do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MReece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States