Crab Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
My crab cake recipe is very similar to this one, but mine has no breadcrumbs. Why should crab cakes always have filling? You want to taste the crab, not breadcrumbs. Use 3-1/2 Tbs. flour and 1/4 tsp. baking powder, and add a splash of Sherry to these remaining ingredients. Cook in a combination of butter and oil. Trust me, the crab cakes will stay together without the breadcrumbs. Fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
I have tried a lot of crab cake recipes. I live on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. These are the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
Super! Searched high and low for a recipe as good as the crab cakes served at Savannah Chop House and these come closest! Too many other recipes use too much Old Bay seasoning or peppers and other extraneous ingredients that take away from the crab flavor. If you like Old Bay seasoning, mix some in mayonnaise, a tinch of ketchup and lemon juice for a nice sauce to serve on the side. Truly wonderful crab cakes! The only improvement could be if I used freshly shelled crab vs. frozen crab meat. Made them for my husband's birthday and he was thrilled, thanking me over and over. Thanks for the recipe! Oh, they are soft when you mold them, but I just plopped a big spoonful right into the crumbs, then patted them together with my hands for a thick crumb coating. Helps if you use more oil to fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
So the crab cakes didn't hold together very well when we were making them, but they sure were tasty! I used canned crab since fresh is hard to come by here and requires a lot of work, and achieved similar results. Don't use a lot of oil, they'll only fall apart easier, and that aspect of this recipe really wasn't necessary. Just a bit of butter/margarine in the bottom of the pan is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I like a minimal amount of filler in my crab cakes but I was disappointed that no crumbs at all were used in this recipe to bind the crab mixture. It was easy enough to remedy, of course, but in my view it should have been included. I used finely crushed saltine crackers, maybe 1/3 cup, just enough to hold those luscious HUGE chunks of lump crabmeat together. I liked the addition of the mustard and I liked the omission of Old Bay Seasoning, so common in other crab cake recipes, even better. In my opinion it only detracts from the taste of very expensive lump crab. I added a tablespoon of melted butter to the crab mixture for extra richness. I packed the crab cakes firmly before coating them in Japanese panko bread crumbs. I did not use high heat. I wanted to be sure the crab cakes were cooked and heated through before the crumb coating became too dark. Medium to medium-high heat worked well. These were awesome. Big chunks of crab, little filler, minimal additions and seasonings make all the difference in the world for perfect crab cakes. To complement and garnish them I plated them with "Avocado-Mango Salsa," and "Mustard Cream Sauce," recipes also from this site, and a few leaves of arugula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Authentic Eastern Shore taste. Added a bit more Worcestershire sauce and also some Old Bay. I find that refrigerating breaded items helps them stay together. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2000
Don't over mix or handle too much and they are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This was a big hit with my husband. He said he wished he hadn't eaten earlier so he could eat more. I did add a little extra worcestershire, a couple tsp. of lime juice, & a little Old Bay. They held together just fine once the first side was done. This will be added to my regular meal rotation! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
I modified the recipe just a bit. I used a mixture of real and imitation crab, added 1 tsp Old Bay seasoning, and 1/2 tsp lemon juice. Once I molded (or tried to mold the cakes) they kept falling apart, so I re-mixed the crab mixture with the crackers (a sleeve of Ritz brand) and they held together much better. My husband and I liked them, but next time I will use canned crab for a finer texture - it's hard to find fresh crabmeat here in the mountains of PA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I couldn't find fresh crab and used imitation. It needed to be run through a food processor or something (which I don't have). Otherwise delicious. Disappeared in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States