Crab Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
After reading all of the rave reviews, I was a little disappointed with these crab cakes. They just weren't all that spectacular to me. To solve problem of them falling apart, I added additional crumbs into the crab/egg/mayo mixture until it reached a texture that would hold. I then gave the formed balls a quick roll in the crumbs to give the outside layer a good coating before frying them. Other than that, I made it as is. Just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
i had these with spinach caprese and baked pears stuffed with almonds, and they were fantastic! really went well with my other sides!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roachonatree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
These were awesome! The only thing I changed was to add a couple of Tbs of crumbs to crab and then to form the patties in my hands with the crumbs. I also refrigerated for about 1/2 hr like a previous user mentioned. I also added 1/2 tsp of old bay. Yummy. I used left over king crab leg meat. I cooked in 1/2 marg and 1/2 O.O. till golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Wouldn't stay together for cooking. Tasty, but a mess:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
i used canned crab and did not care for them at all. i don't know what they're like with fresh crab. they might be good. but i will never make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Taste was good, I just couldn't get them to stay together very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I tried it with canned crab meat and it was pretty good (though it didn't need any extra salt). Needs some sort of sauce, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Delicious! I had never made crab cakes before and was searching for a good recipe. This one was exactly what I was looking for...easy to make and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Excellent recipe! I tried another recipe from a cook book and was not crazy about them, but this recipe was perfection. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candygirl15

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Ok, these crab cakes gave me a really good jumping off point. We used imitation crab and we had to run it through the food processer to chop it fine. Then I added dill and garlic powder and old bay seasoning to the crab in addition to the ground mustard. we chilled it for 20 minutes, and just as we were getting ready to form the cakes, we added the crushed crackers to the crab, instead of rolling them. they held together MUCH better, and everyone in my family LOVED them!! (even my 3 year old, and he's PICKY!!!) we will definatly be adding this to our regular rotation. Also, for something different, add a teaspoon of dill and a 1/2 tsp garlic powder to 3 tsp of mayo and use as a dipping sauce or sandwich spread. Gives the cakes a different taste than just plain butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States