Crab Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I picked this crab cake recipe because I wanted a CRAB cake, not a crab and breadcrumb cake, and this recipe seemed to fit the bill. I used these ingredients, although I wanted a little more flavor so used a teaspoon of Worcestershire and a teaspoon of ground mustard and a few tablespoons of fresh parsley for the color. The only thing I really changed was the order of putting this together. I think that the best crab cakes have lumps of crab, not shredded bits of crab, so to achieve this I whisked together the egg, mayo, seasonings and then folded in the crab. Then I rolled the crab into 1/4 cup balls and refrigerated for about half hour while I got the rest of dinner together. Then I rolled some of the balls in Ritz cracker crumbs, and some in Panko, honestly I couldn't tell the difference, so will use Panko next time as it is much easier. I fried them in two batches in a mix of 1T olive oil and 1T butter per batch. You have to be careful putting them in and flipping them, but the flavor of the crab really comes through and makes it worth the extra care.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is a great recipe. The crackers added a crispy factor that you can't get from bread crumbs. Simple and delicous, which makes the crab stand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Rogers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Quite appetizing, left me wanting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennysslife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Excellent! I only did two tiny little tweaks - not based on any shortcoming in the recipe, but just on personal preference. I added a couple TBS of very finely chopped celery, and about 1/8 of a tsp of cayenne...just for a little pop! Loved them...even my "crab neutral" husband liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HopeLivzOn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Very good crab cakes, added a pinch more mayo, and only needed about 8 ritz crackers that I crumbled directly in as the last ingredient. then refrigerated the mixture for about a half an hour, allowed for better patty making. 2-3 mins per side in canola oil. and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Not a fan. Couldnt come by fresh crab and cakes fell apart in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
First I would like to say that I have never made crab cakes before. This recipe is supper easy and very good. I used more mustard than the recipe called for. I also made a spicy mayo as a topping. (Just mayo, cayanne, and paprika adjust to your taste - I like mine hot). I would recomend this recipe to any first time makers. This is a can't miss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bensenville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
The first review on this recipe confused me as I couldn't figure out where they got breadcrumbs from, unless they meant the crakers. . . ??? Anyway this was a perfect pair for my husbands birthday steak dinner! He said they were the best crab cakes he's ever had! The majority of this recipe is crab meat so the end result is basically lump crab meat with a crispy outside! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracieT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Felt that these cakes left a LOT to be desired. Out of the four cakes, only one didn't crumble in the pan. From the bits that I did eat, I noticed that there was a total lack of flavor - not something I was prepared for going off the rave reviews. Good starting recipe but not something I'd do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MReece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Turned out perfect. Will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States