Crab Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
liked these a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I added about a half a box of Jiffy corn muffin mix for texture and some Old Bay seasoning and they turn out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I LOVED these crab cakes, I made them for my family and they were gobbled up!! I added green, red, and yellow diced peppers with a little green onion and parsley. I used butter instead of oil and I used ritz crackers to roll them in! They were FANTASTIC! I also made the spicy shrimp and grits to go along with the crab cakes. They were the BEST shrimp and grits I have EVER tasted!! Follow the recipe exactly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Delicious tasty crab cakes. One reason I chose to make this was because there were minimal seasonings and no fillers (bread crumbs or crackers) on inside. I like that there was mustard inside the lump crabmeat. I did add a tadbit of dijon mustard to the crabmeat plus 1/2 tsp of ground mustard. I gently breaded the crabcakes in the crushed crackers. I chilled the crabmeat for an hour in the refrigerator so it would not fall apart easily while frying and maintain its shape. I heated up the oil on medium high heat. They took about 4 minutes on each side, nice and golden brown. I think these turned out awesome, as they did not fall apart at all and had a nice balance of flavors. I could taste all the lumped crabmeat. I served these with mustard cream sauce, from this website. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Had some trouble keeping the crab cakes from falling apart. Made them a bit smaller and coated them more with bread crumbs 2nd time around to help them stay in place. My husband loved them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by josephs_mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Like others, I had trouble keeping the cakes from falling apart, so I added crushed saltines until I was able to form a cohesive ball of crab mixture. Other than that hiccup, I thought it was a great recipe in its simplicity and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
My husband and I made these today, they had a great crunchy coating and were nice and tender inside. He feels they were a little tasteless and I love plain seafood so I enjoyed the natural crab flavor. I would certainly add these to my Summer Menu. We served them up with Coleslaw and Corn on the cob for a wonderful meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NitaS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
My hubby loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
One of the best of many recipes for Crab Cakes. Excellent, and with the correct amount of crab. NOT all filler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I like a minimal amount of filler in my crab cakes but I was disappointed that no crumbs at all were used in this recipe to bind the crab mixture. It was easy enough to remedy, of course, but in my view it should have been included. I used finely crushed saltine crackers, maybe 1/3 cup, just enough to hold those luscious HUGE chunks of lump crabmeat together. I liked the addition of the mustard and I liked the omission of Old Bay Seasoning, so common in other crab cake recipes, even better. In my opinion it only detracts from the taste of very expensive lump crab. I added a tablespoon of melted butter to the crab mixture for extra richness. I packed the crab cakes firmly before coating them in Japanese panko bread crumbs. I did not use high heat. I wanted to be sure the crab cakes were cooked and heated through before the crumb coating became too dark. Medium to medium-high heat worked well. These were awesome. Big chunks of crab, little filler, minimal additions and seasonings make all the difference in the world for perfect crab cakes. To complement and garnish them I plated them with "Avocado-Mango Salsa," and "Mustard Cream Sauce," recipes also from this site, and a few leaves of arugula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States