Crab Cake Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I did not have cottage cheese or yogurt but i used all the other ingredients and added a few of my own. I had no idea what I was doing but I decided to wing it and my husband LOVED IT! I added worchershire (sp?) sauce, garlic powder, crushed red pepper, tobasco and horseradish. It was AWESOME!!! Just knowing what to base it on and then adding what we liked was perfect. Thanks for the base! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
everyone loved this sauce. People were taking so much you couldn't see their crab cake underneath it. It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hillsboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2000
This sauce is so easy to make and wonderful to taste. It keeps well in a covered jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
I didn't use the cottage cheese, but added a bit more cayenne pepper and a dash of hot sauce, biy was it yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
I found the yogurt to give a funny taste to the sauce. I may substitute for the yogurt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This wouldn't be my favorite recipe for sauce. I sub'd the salsa with horse radish as another reviewer suggested. It was good but not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Very good with crab cakes. Slightly runny even after refrigeration, but good nonetheless. I served this sauce with crab cakes for my in-laws, and my father-in-law couldn't get enough of it. It's really good for dousing because it's not strong-flavored. A creamy, cocktail sauce taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Very, very easy to make. I made exactly to recipe for 6 servings and it made way more than enough for 6, 3oz. crab cakes except used medium salsa instead of hot. I'd like a bit more flavor but my mom and sis are sensitive to spicy foods and thought it had "a bite". Personally, I'd use the hot salsa next time and add a bit more cayenne pepper. Thanks for posting this simple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Yum!! This sauce was FABULOUS on "Lori's Famous Crab Cakes", also from this site. The only thing that I changed was that I doubled the amt of cayenne pepper, everything else I kept the same. Like others said, this would be terrific to even just dip tortilla chips in! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambikins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I made this sauce to accompany the "Best Ever Crab Cakes" submitted by LINDACHEK on this site. It was great! (The crab cakes were great too). It has a cool taste to it, and just a little heat. Some people have said that this sauce is bland, so if you tend to like bland foods (as we tend to), this may be the sauce for you! I didn't have a blender, so I used a food processor and made it really smooth. This recipe did make WAY more sauce than we needed, so next time, I'll probably cut it down to 1/4 of the recipe. Thanks for the great recipe! We will make this again and again, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah1015

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States