Crab Cake Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I did not have cottage cheese or yogurt but i used all the other ingredients and added a few of my own. I had no idea what I was doing but I decided to wing it and my husband LOVED IT! I added worchershire (sp?) sauce, garlic powder, crushed red pepper, tobasco and horseradish. It was AWESOME!!! Just knowing what to base it on and then adding what we liked was perfect. Thanks for the base! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Very, very easy to make. I made exactly to recipe for 6 servings and it made way more than enough for 6, 3oz. crab cakes except used medium salsa instead of hot. I'd like a bit more flavor but my mom and sis are sensitive to spicy foods and thought it had "a bite". Personally, I'd use the hot salsa next time and add a bit more cayenne pepper. Thanks for posting this simple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
We really liked this sauce! It makes a ton! You can easily cut it in half and still have some left over. I may try the horseradish others suggested. My only problem is that the sauce is incredibly thin. Any ideas on how to thicken it up? Post here, if so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Randall Lyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I made this to go with salmon cakes. I omitted the yogurt as I didn't have any, and added a lot more salsa than the recipe called for. It was ok but I'll probably just stick with regular tartare sauce. I give this 3.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Delicious. Simple. Watch the serving size though. Made way too much sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
everyone loved this sauce. People were taking so much you couldn't see their crab cake underneath it. It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hillsboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This sauce is DELICIOUS! I wouldn't call it crab cake sauce though, it can go with many other things, chips being the best one... although, I don't see a difference in adding cottage cheese and yogurt.. I've tried plain hot salsa & sour cream mixed together and this is what this tastes like.. Next time- I will probably omit the cottage cheese &/or yogurt.. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaybee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
i also made the lime cilantro sauce. everyone liked this on better, but it does need to be kicked up a little bit. more salsa, and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This wouldn't be my favorite recipe for sauce. I sub'd the salsa with horse radish as another reviewer suggested. It was good but not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This went really well with crab cakes. I'm going to use it as my crab cake sauce from now on. I prepared the sauce without the cottage cheese and the yogurt, because I didn't have them, and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States