Crab Cake Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was very tasty, I used Medium salsa instead of hot, my wife does not like it to spicy and this was her birthday dinner. This was great, I'm looking forward to trying this recipe with a Poboy sandwich. this was way better than I thought it would be. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Ok....this is amazing stuff. I made it last weekend to accompany my crab cakes and just LOVED it. It makes a lot for 2 people, but then ended up eating it with chicken, eggs, cottage cheese....on top of bread, all week long. It is SO darned good!!! I used all lowfat ingredients, mild salsa(because my hubby doesn't like hot) and even he thought it was fabulous!! THanks, Joan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Delicious! My 3 year old non-crab eater said, "hey, I DO like crab!". I'm pretty sure he just liked the sauce. =) I made as written except I didn't have yogurt. I will try again with the yogurt. I think that would make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Excellent! I made this the night before and I was a little disappointed that it tasted so much like sour cream at first but after leaving it in the refrigerator for a day I could not believe how good it waws. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I used everything except yoghurt, didn't have it and it still tastes great. Makes plenty, I'll save the rest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This was like a bland taco dip. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Awesome! I doubled the cayenne and did not add the yogurt. Was wonderful with Maryland crab cakes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Good sauce. All the ingedients should have had a more collective taste, but for some reason it tasted mostly like sour cream. The hot pepper is a must. The biggest problem I had with it was my own fault: the servings. I had a HUGE bowl filled with it for 3 crabcakes. Not exactly proportional portions! However, to the credit of the recipe, I was able to serve it as a blue cheese replacement when i cooked up some buffalo wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuclear Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ansonia, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Well, I was really excited about this sauce but was a little disappointed. It has a semi-nice flavor but I think just half the amount of yogurt will do. It was very thin. I tried to thicken it up with some heavy whipping cream but it didn't really work....however it DID cut the strong taste of the yogurt. I added some Old Bay seasoning, a little garlic & onion powder to 'pep' it up a little. We still enjoyed it but will try to alter it next time.....i think it would have been 5 stars if I could've thickened it up just a tad.....Still recommended. **I'm adding this note a few days later to change my rating to 5 stars. It seems as though the sauce thickened up in the fridge...(maybe because I whipped in heavy cream?) but I also added a little roasted red pepper vinagrette and it is such a versatile sauce. It makes a lot. this morning i made homemade hash browns..put an over-medium egg on top and finished it with the sauce on top of that. Mmmmmmm........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Very good accent to crab cakes. The whole family enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States