Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Ok I didn't quite have the ingredients here but my modification recipe was nummah! Instead of mushroom soup, I used cream of potato, added one sliced celery stick (add early to soften) and instead of curry, added old bay, minced dry garlic, garlic salt, a few hairs of saffron and creole seasoning. I tossed in a pound of frozen imitation crab and dumped it in. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Still not like the bisques made with real cream and butter, but a good base. I sauted 1/2 minced onion in 1/4 cup real butter first, added 1/2 tsp. cajun spice. Then I added a can of crab meat, with juice. Simmered a couple minutes, added soups, a splash of milk and a splash of white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made it as recommended, but it was too bland. I added a bunch of extra seasonings, and that made it ok. I wouldn't make this again for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carthage, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I'm trying to add anything in the cabinet to spice it up. Right now it tastes like canned mushroom soup and canned tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Pennington

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I've only had crab bisque a couple times before and it soon became a favorite of mine, so I was excited when I came across this easy recipe. But after trying it, I've concluded that I will never make this again. It's ruined, in my opinion, by condensed tomato soup, which overpowers the flavor of the whole soup. I tried adding a bit of cayanne pepper and cheese, but could not cover the tomato soup flavor. Next time I will find a more complex, time consuming recipe, because hopefully making everything from scratch will enhance the flavor. I also can't stand imitation crab meat, but the real stuff is expensive, and totally not worth the cost for this cheap taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
4 stars after I added almost half cup more of milk. Only other thing I changed was substituting condensed cream of celery soup in place of condensed cream of mushroom soup, with a flavorful end result, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonAppetitBaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Great soup when you want something fast and easy. Kids and husband liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Followed the recipe, it turned out alright but not stellar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camsmith89

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Pretty good soup, soup-er easy to make. I added sauted onion and garlic, garlic tabasco and a handful of un-cooked instant rice plus some extra milk to accomodate the rice. I'm gonna put some in a thermos for when my gf and I go x-country skiing, she will think I'm a chef. (Chef Boyardee maybe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colonel Flag

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Add more milk to 2 cups and add rice to it. It's really good that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States