Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
As said before - great base recipe but I changed a few things. I used real crab and made stock from the shells (you'll need this!). I made a big batch so I used 26 oz. of CofM and only 20 oz of CofT (Still had tomato aftertaste - use less?). Sauteed onions were added. I used 1 3/4 c. of the crab stock. 3 cups of crabmeat. A pinch of Chili powder (over Curry), celery salt, onion salt, and garlic pepper. My daughter asked for SECONDS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was wonderful with a chopped salad and french bread from my favorite restaurant. I did "soup" this soup up a little bit, though, by adding 1/2 tsp. Italian Seasoning, 1/4 tsp. onion powder, and 1/4 tsp. minced garlic from a jar. I also used low fat milk, low fat cream cheese(per a previous suggestion), and I also added a leftover baked potato from the night before that I had diced up. This was WONDERFUL with these additions. However, I don't believe that I will be adding 1/2 tsp. of Italian Seasoning and will reduce this to 1/4 tsp. of Italian Seasoning instead. The curry is a MUST in this recipe and do not skip out on this spice. I will be adding this to my rotation of foods. The best parts of this recipe are that it is very quick, delicious, and elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alr516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apainter0703
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Easy, yummy! Full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apainter0703

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
THE TOMATO SOUP DROWNS ALL THE OTHER FLAVORS. AN EXPENSIVE BOWL OF LUMPY TOMATO SOUP TO ME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I think this is a great idea for a base soup/sauce recipe. I chose this because these were the exact ingredients I had left in my cabinet and wanted to use left over pasta so I used it as a sauce. (Added seafood seasoning, diced tomato, and parmesan.) I did use imitation crab meat as the recipe stated because I had some that needed to be used or tossed. Great idea to mix cream of mushroom/tomato soup. It all worked out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
What a great recipe. We actually caught fresh blue crabs out of the harbor while we were on vacation, steamed them, then made the bisque. It turned out great. Its a hearty, filling addition to a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was a great started recipe, but I never make a dish without adding a bit of my own preferences to it. I made a very zippy bisque by adding a liberal amount of Tony's Cajun Seasoning(I don't use measuring cups or spoons, so I did it to taste ... your preference may vary) along with a bit of minced garlic. I also added some parsley flakes and green onions for color, and some mozzarella cheese. The cheese was a great idea ... it lent a particularly good flavor to the whole dish. Lump crabmeat tastes better with this dish, in my opinion. Also, I tried to add some bulk and texture by sauteeing up some onions, celery, and mushrooms, and that made for a heartier, more satisfying soup. This recipe is a great template, and you shouldn't be afraid to alter it a bit to make it your own. Happy experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Well, after reading the reviews it looked like a "love it or hate it" recipe. Not being one to shrink away from eclectic dishes, and since the ingredients weren't expensive, I thought I'd give this one a try. And, I *liked* it! Next time I'll sauté some fresh mushrooms in a little butter and add them, and add just a dash more curry for extra zip. For me? This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I'm sorry - I didn't care for this. It tasted like the ingredients, just stirred together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
The tomatoe was a little overpowering, but once I upped the spices a bit it ended up balancing out. I would still recommend not using the full can, but at least 75% of it minimum. The pepper to taste should be 2 decent sprinkles over the pan, if the soup is bland add more pepper. I also didnt have curry so I used cayenne which worked quite well, about 2 pinches. This can be done with any seafood I think, in fact it almost seemed like the crab was intruding on the soup and unneeded. It was quite yummy, my GF who is a chef recommended I add more pepper when she tried a spoon and that made it a lot better. It was quite quick and easy too which is big in my books ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States