Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
As said before - great base recipe but I changed a few things. I used real crab and made stock from the shells (you'll need this!). I made a big batch so I used 26 oz. of CofM and only 20 oz of CofT (Still had tomato aftertaste - use less?). Sauteed onions were added. I used 1 3/4 c. of the crab stock. 3 cups of crabmeat. A pinch of Chili powder (over Curry), celery salt, onion salt, and garlic pepper. My daughter asked for SECONDS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was wonderful with a chopped salad and french bread from my favorite restaurant. I did "soup" this soup up a little bit, though, by adding 1/2 tsp. Italian Seasoning, 1/4 tsp. onion powder, and 1/4 tsp. minced garlic from a jar. I also used low fat milk, low fat cream cheese(per a previous suggestion), and I also added a leftover baked potato from the night before that I had diced up. This was WONDERFUL with these additions. However, I don't believe that I will be adding 1/2 tsp. of Italian Seasoning and will reduce this to 1/4 tsp. of Italian Seasoning instead. The curry is a MUST in this recipe and do not skip out on this spice. I will be adding this to my rotation of foods. The best parts of this recipe are that it is very quick, delicious, and elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alr516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apainter0703
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Easy, yummy! Full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apainter0703

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
THE TOMATO SOUP DROWNS ALL THE OTHER FLAVORS. AN EXPENSIVE BOWL OF LUMPY TOMATO SOUP TO ME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I think this is a great idea for a base soup/sauce recipe. I chose this because these were the exact ingredients I had left in my cabinet and wanted to use left over pasta so I used it as a sauce. (Added seafood seasoning, diced tomato, and parmesan.) I did use imitation crab meat as the recipe stated because I had some that needed to be used or tossed. Great idea to mix cream of mushroom/tomato soup. It all worked out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
What a great recipe. We actually caught fresh blue crabs out of the harbor while we were on vacation, steamed them, then made the bisque. It turned out great. Its a hearty, filling addition to a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was a great started recipe, but I never make a dish without adding a bit of my own preferences to it. I made a very zippy bisque by adding a liberal amount of Tony's Cajun Seasoning(I don't use measuring cups or spoons, so I did it to taste ... your preference may vary) along with a bit of minced garlic. I also added some parsley flakes and green onions for color, and some mozzarella cheese. The cheese was a great idea ... it lent a particularly good flavor to the whole dish. Lump crabmeat tastes better with this dish, in my opinion. Also, I tried to add some bulk and texture by sauteeing up some onions, celery, and mushrooms, and that made for a heartier, more satisfying soup. This recipe is a great template, and you shouldn't be afraid to alter it a bit to make it your own. Happy experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Well, after reading the reviews it looked like a "love it or hate it" recipe. Not being one to shrink away from eclectic dishes, and since the ingredients weren't expensive, I thought I'd give this one a try. And, I *liked* it! Next time I'll sauté some fresh mushrooms in a little butter and add them, and add just a dash more curry for extra zip. For me? This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I'm sorry - I didn't care for this. It tasted like the ingredients, just stirred together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
The tomatoe was a little overpowering, but once I upped the spices a bit it ended up balancing out. I would still recommend not using the full can, but at least 75% of it minimum. The pepper to taste should be 2 decent sprinkles over the pan, if the soup is bland add more pepper. I also didnt have curry so I used cayenne which worked quite well, about 2 pinches. This can be done with any seafood I think, in fact it almost seemed like the crab was intruding on the soup and unneeded. It was quite yummy, my GF who is a chef recommended I add more pepper when she tried a spoon and that made it a lot better. It was quite quick and easy too which is big in my books ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States