Crab Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Delicious! Just like Red Lobster! I made it a bit lighter by using low fat cream cheese and also 1% milk instead of cream (but I added just a bit more butter.) At first when you are stirring it, the mix looks like it's all lumpy and it won't work - but then eventually it all comes together nicely. I did whisk it with a fork to get any flour lumps out. Use the shredded Parmesan cheese in the plastic tub that you get in the deli section for some stringiness to the sauce. I'm sure you can go Gluten Free on this recipe and skip the flour - it can thicken up on it's own without it. I didn't measure the cayenne, so I ended up putting a bit too much in (hubby loved it, kids thought it was a tad spicy, but not bad) so to tone it down I added fresh chopped spinach and some chopped tomatoes. I must say - the colors of the spinach and tomato really made it pop! Added a little healthy flair to boot. The whole family loved it and thought it was DELICIOUS. Also threw in some left over shrimp - great dish! Kids were 10 and 12 and gobbled it right up. My edits: 1. Used 1% milk instead of half and half 2. Used low fat cream cheese 3. Added a bit more butter 4. Used 2x the garlic 4. Added shrimp 5. Added chopped fresh spinach and fresh tomato 6. Used linguine After everything cooked, I poured all the pasta in a bowl and poured the sauce on top and tossed well so the pasta was coated. I'm thinking mushrooms and/or peas would also go well in the dish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I have been trying to recreate the Red Lobster Crab Alfredo for years and this may be even better than the restaurant version. The addition of the cayenne pepper really gives it that little extra kick that puts this recipe on my five-star list. Thanks so much for sharing. This is now my go to alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkaras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Excellent! I made this recipe as is, but with a pinch of nutmeg added. I almost always add a bit of cream cheese to my cream soups to enhance the texture, so when I saw the suggestion here to do the same, I was pretty sure I recognized a winner (for my palate anyway). It isn't the kind of meal I'd make more than once a year or so because of the shear calories/fat/etc, but I really think skimping on the ingredients it calls for would be tragic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jasmine
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I made this for me and my boyfriend and he loved it! I don't know if I accidentally added too much cayenne pepper but it seemed a bit spicy (even for me & I love spicy) so I might cut back a bit on that the next time.....pretty easy to make but I have to admit I started to panic when I got to adding the flour to the butter mixture....I was worried I might have messed up but after adding the half-n-half & cheeses and kind of beating/whisking/stirring with a fork I got that 'creamy' texture I was looking for. Over all I gave this a 4 stars but my fella said 4 to 5 ....so I went ahead and said 5 stars. Easy and delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
The sauce is creamy and rich and brings out the flavor of the crab meat. I will definitely be making this again! I left out the cayenne pepper and I only used one Tbsp of flour instead of three. The sauce turned out the right consistency this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guymon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Hugoton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I wanted to love this especially because I love Alfredo and crab. However, this was super thick/rich, even after I added more milk!!! I just have a family of three(husband, myself and baby) so I cut it down to 3 servings and it served more like 4 to 5. I thought this was bland in flavor even after I tried "doctoring it up" ... still blah. I will not make this again and would not recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Really Really the best Alfredo sauce I have ever tasted. This recipe is perfect...except if you don't like spicy, then just leave the cayenne pepper out, Pefection though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Tastes great but the sauce is WAY TOO thick! If I had known it would come out so thick I would have cut out the flour and added only one tablespoon of cream cheese. I can always use it as crab dip :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Sorry but this recipe was way too thick and gooey. I will keep looking for an alfredo recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Absolutely delish!!! Quick & simple to make. I think I may have been a little heavy handed with the cayenne pepper & next time will add less. Otherwise, great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

To-Die-For Fettuccine Alfredo

See how to make a rich and delicious fettuccine Alfredo.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States