Cozy Cottage Beef Stew Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Got pressed for time so I didn't follow the recipe exactly, like cooking it in a pot and using meatballs. But turned out great, everyone kept going back for more! Definitely will make again... but I'd still stick to the meatballs, they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlitme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Good flavor and super easy to make!! A keeper for crockpot soups!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I took the auther's advice to make this into a stew. I cooked it for 8 hours and it turned out geat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by threemore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was allright, good but not GREAT. As a basic beef vegetable soup goes, this was perfectly fine. My fiancé and I found this to be pretty bland (I even bought fresh (dried) spices just for this, so I know it wasn’t due to them being old, etc.). I’ve made many slow cooker soups like this, and I have to say that out of all of them, this is the best by far tho.... The addition of fresh green beans is a nice touch. And if for nothing other than simplicity’s sake, this is deserving of 5 stars, but because I always rate on taste, I can only award 4 stars. I will definitely keep this in my rotation, but will have to tinker around a bit next time to suit my / our tastes. Here are my suggested changes: 1) substitute ground beef for stew meat (browned / drained first!) or use finely chopped beef chop suey meat – my grocer sells beef this way. I cut my big stew chunks of beef into bite-sized pieces anyways (I think large chunks of meat go perfectly with stew and smaller pieces pair nicely with soups). 2) DOUBLE THE SPICES! 3) Salt to taste - PERIOD! 4) Try sweet potatoes or a combination of sweet / Russet potatoes next time. 5) As I did this time, cut my carrots into slices and my celery into a small dice (mincing both seemed odd to me...). All in all, this was a fine SOUP, perfect for a chilly “fall is almost here” evening. Adding a loaf of warm, crusty French bread completed our meal. Thanks for sharing, Baricat! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Soup, stew, who cares. It is fantastically delicious. One of my favorite recipes. The only changes I make are minor. I sauté the onion and mushrooms in a little garlic then seared the meat before adding to the crockpot. I add enough of the liquids to cover the meat and potatoes and then set the remainder on the counter to be added as it cooks IF needed. I serve with homemade french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deathbycanon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I found this stew/soup to be more stew than soup. The broth was pretty thick. After following the directions without alterations, I found it to be okay, but it isn't something I'd make again without some changes. I wasn't very fond of the crushed tomatoes, but the rest of the ingredients seemed to work together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
My husband and I loved this soup, but we thought it could use more meat that what the recipe called for. We will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Honestly, I didn't mind the "extra" liquid. That's what cornbread is for! : ) However, if you must, you can also thicken it up a little by adding some potato flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HugBug01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I didn't want it too soupy so I only added 2 cans of broth, rather than the 4. But in the end it just didn't have the comfort food flavor profile that I was craving. Too much tomato flavor; I would have preferred it to be beefier. Also, I had cooked it just over 6 hours and it needed probably another hour at least to get every bite to soften. Some pieces of beef and carrots were still a bit tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Moretto
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This was good but I tweated it a bit. I didnt put in any of those liquids requested. I did all the vegetables except the mushrooms since I didnt have them and switched beans to peas, again it was what I had. I put 1/2 cup of red wine, a can of tomato soup and enough regular chicken broth to cover the meat/veggies cooked it for 10 hours on low. When I got home I dumped the can of peas and about a tbsp of cornstarch to thicken it a bit. I let it be for a few mnutes and it was perfect. didnt even need salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Moretto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainsboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States