Cozy Cottage Beef Stew Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Great recipe! I will cut down on the liquids a bit next time because there was too much gravy left. Excellent flavor though. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This was a huge hit! Great for a cold winter day! Seasonings were just right. Next time, I will add 1/2 bag of frozen corn, and a little more meat. Also, I put in more flour at the end to thicken the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
The flavour of this stew was amazing, and it was so nice to come home to the smell of delicious(but healthy) stew! The only thing I would change, is to reduce the amount of liquids, it was thicker than soup, but had just a touch too much liquid for the amount of veggies and beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
This one takes a little while to get everything chopped up, but the flavors and textures are outstanding when it is done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
My family loves this and so do i. for my kids, who are picky eaters, i puree the soup so they don't really know there are veggies in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
Excellent! Extremely flavorful. We left out the beans and mushrooms but otherwise followed the recipe as is. I ate some after 6 hours and the potatoes weren't quite soft enough yet, so I'd definitely go for 8 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
I gave this five stars because it is so tasty AND really low fat. Only (5) points per serving for Weight Watcher participants....and it will fill you up! I also used fresh thyme and marjoram sprigs while it was cooking and then removed the stems before serving. Great meal for us cold-weather people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
My family loved this recipe! Thank you so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I left out the green beans (ever notice how cooking things with green beans makes everything taste like green beans?) and added another four ounces of mushrooms and a few fresh tomatoes (since they would have gone bad by the next day). It was very tasty, even though I forgot the flour the first time I made it and it was more of a "soup" than "stew". Still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
It doesn't have enough beef to serve as a stew. If you want stew, you'll have to add more flour to thicken up, and increase the amount of beef. Cut the meat and veggies in larger pieces for a stew. About the beef consomme thing, Campbell's makes both a broth and a consomme. The consomme has a more gelatin texture and deeper flavor/color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States