Cozy Cottage Beef Stew Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
The flavour of this stew was amazing, and it was so nice to come home to the smell of delicious(but healthy) stew! The only thing I would change, is to reduce the amount of liquids, it was thicker than soup, but had just a touch too much liquid for the amount of veggies and beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
It doesn't have enough beef to serve as a stew. If you want stew, you'll have to add more flour to thicken up, and increase the amount of beef. Cut the meat and veggies in larger pieces for a stew. About the beef consomme thing, Campbell's makes both a broth and a consomme. The consomme has a more gelatin texture and deeper flavor/color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
This one takes a little while to get everything chopped up, but the flavors and textures are outstanding when it is done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
My family loves this and so do i. for my kids, who are picky eaters, i puree the soup so they don't really know there are veggies in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This was a huge hit! Great for a cold winter day! Seasonings were just right. Next time, I will add 1/2 bag of frozen corn, and a little more meat. Also, I put in more flour at the end to thicken the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
Excellent! Extremely flavorful. We left out the beans and mushrooms but otherwise followed the recipe as is. I ate some after 6 hours and the potatoes weren't quite soft enough yet, so I'd definitely go for 8 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
I gave this five stars because it is so tasty AND really low fat. Only (5) points per serving for Weight Watcher participants....and it will fill you up! I also used fresh thyme and marjoram sprigs while it was cooking and then removed the stems before serving. Great meal for us cold-weather people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
My family loved this recipe! Thank you so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I left out the green beans (ever notice how cooking things with green beans makes everything taste like green beans?) and added another four ounces of mushrooms and a few fresh tomatoes (since they would have gone bad by the next day). It was very tasty, even though I forgot the flour the first time I made it and it was more of a "soup" than "stew". Still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Great recipe! I will cut down on the liquids a bit next time because there was too much gravy left. Excellent flavor though. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States