Cozy Cottage Beef Stew Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I am the submitter of this recipe, and it IS a soup. However, it can be changed easily to make a stew. Increase the meat to 3 to 3.5 pounds. Cut the liquids in half (meaning 1 can chicken broth, one can beef consomme or stock.) Mix 1/2 cup of flour into the cool stock before adding to the pot, then stir until the mixture comes to a simmer, in order to keep it smooth. Vegetables can be tailored to suit your taste. Root veggies are good, like turnip or yams. You can use less onion if you like (should read 2 SMALL onions,) and omit the green beans and mushrooms if you don't like them. Use more or less pepper, as you prefer. THIS RECIPE IS EASILY TAILORED TO YOUR TASTE. i.e. if you don't like lots of onion, cut it back to one. Use more spice if you like stronger flavors, or more garlic if that's the way you like things. Omit the tomato sauce and/or crushed tomatoes if you don't like your soup somewhat tomatoey - if you do, feel free to add some fresh chopped tomato. Cut the vegetables in chunks instead of mincing, if you like it heartier. If you have a crock pot smaller than the largest size, for which this recipe was created, be sure to cut down on your liquids. Use whatever is needed to fill your particular pot to no more than 3/4 full, then STOP ADDING LIQUID. The crock pot should NEVER be filled to overflowing - that's just plain common sense. Important: Taste for salt before serving and adjust as necessary. That should always be your last step before serving any dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Good, but it only gets 4 stars because the name is a little misleading. I expected a beef stew with a bit of tomato flavor, but it was really like a thick minestrone with some chunks of beef. Very good though. I had to cut the amount of broth in half because my crockpot was too full. I loved the fresh green beans in this! Served with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
A really good beef stew! It has a number of advantages over other recipes - no flouring and browning the meat, lower in fat and calories, and spices other than salt! Next time I will leave out the tomato sauce - didn't seem to add much except extra liquid. In order to thicken the stew, though (which was surprisingly thin even with the flour), I had to add 2 tbsp. of corn starch/cold water an hour before eating, and that did the trick. This makes A LOT, and I think that the amount affects the cooking time - I cooked it for 8 hours on low then 6 hours on high because after 8 hours the potatoes were still hard and the meat still chewy. Next time I'll go with 6-10 hours on high. Thanks, Cat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
It doesn't have enough beef to serve as a stew. If you want stew, you'll have to add more flour to thicken up, and increase the amount of beef. Cut the meat and veggies in larger pieces for a stew. About the beef consomme thing, Campbell's makes both a broth and a consomme. The consomme has a more gelatin texture and deeper flavor/color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This was a huge hit! Great for a cold winter day! Seasonings were just right. Next time, I will add 1/2 bag of frozen corn, and a little more meat. Also, I put in more flour at the end to thicken the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I completely agree with the previous comments regarding the amount of liquid. I used much less - I made this with 16oz stewing meat, and ended up using one can of beef broth, one can of diced tomatoes, and a maybe 2/3 of the tomato can filled with water. I followed the recipe exactly, and thought it was quite bland. So I added more freshly-ground black pepper, some Italian seasoning, and an Oxo cube, which helped, but it was still lacking something. I think maybe a few cups of red wine, reduced during the cooking time, might have helped. Overall, I thought this was good but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
The flavour of this stew was amazing, and it was so nice to come home to the smell of delicious(but healthy) stew! The only thing I would change, is to reduce the amount of liquids, it was thicker than soup, but had just a touch too much liquid for the amount of veggies and beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Great recipe! I will cut down on the liquids a bit next time because there was too much gravy left. Excellent flavor though. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This turned out very much like a soup, even after adding some corn starch as suggested by another reviewer. The flavor was also a little weak and a little too much like tomatoes. There was also not nearly enough meat. Also, why call it beef consumme instead of beef broth? The meat that was there was great, and it definitely scores points for being healthy, if you're into that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I left out the green beans (ever notice how cooking things with green beans makes everything taste like green beans?) and added another four ounces of mushrooms and a few fresh tomatoes (since they would have gone bad by the next day). It was very tasty, even though I forgot the flour the first time I made it and it was more of a "soup" than "stew". Still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States