Cozy Cottage Beef Stew Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Good, but it only gets 4 stars because the name is a little misleading. I expected a beef stew with a bit of tomato flavor, but it was really like a thick minestrone with some chunks of beef. Very good though. I had to cut the amount of broth in half because my crockpot was too full. I loved the fresh green beans in this! Served with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
It doesn't have enough beef to serve as a stew. If you want stew, you'll have to add more flour to thicken up, and increase the amount of beef. Cut the meat and veggies in larger pieces for a stew. About the beef consomme thing, Campbell's makes both a broth and a consomme. The consomme has a more gelatin texture and deeper flavor/color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This turned out very much like a soup, even after adding some corn starch as suggested by another reviewer. The flavor was also a little weak and a little too much like tomatoes. There was also not nearly enough meat. Also, why call it beef consumme instead of beef broth? The meat that was there was great, and it definitely scores points for being healthy, if you're into that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
A really good beef stew! It has a number of advantages over other recipes - no flouring and browning the meat, lower in fat and calories, and spices other than salt! Next time I will leave out the tomato sauce - didn't seem to add much except extra liquid. In order to thicken the stew, though (which was surprisingly thin even with the flour), I had to add 2 tbsp. of corn starch/cold water an hour before eating, and that did the trick. This makes A LOT, and I think that the amount affects the cooking time - I cooked it for 8 hours on low then 6 hours on high because after 8 hours the potatoes were still hard and the meat still chewy. Next time I'll go with 6-10 hours on high. Thanks, Cat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I left out the green beans (ever notice how cooking things with green beans makes everything taste like green beans?) and added another four ounces of mushrooms and a few fresh tomatoes (since they would have gone bad by the next day). It was very tasty, even though I forgot the flour the first time I made it and it was more of a "soup" than "stew". Still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
The flavour of this stew was amazing, and it was so nice to come home to the smell of delicious(but healthy) stew! The only thing I would change, is to reduce the amount of liquids, it was thicker than soup, but had just a touch too much liquid for the amount of veggies and beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
This was a very tasty dish, however, it didn't fit in my crockpot. I had to remove some of the potatoes, and did not add the 2 cans of beef stock. I will make it again, but not as written, or will half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
My family loved this recipe! Thank you so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This turned out pretty good. I love that it's so healthy for you. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stewartville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
I gave this five stars because it is so tasty AND really low fat. Only (5) points per serving for Weight Watcher participants....and it will fill you up! I also used fresh thyme and marjoram sprigs while it was cooking and then removed the stems before serving. Great meal for us cold-weather people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States