Cozy Cottage Beef Stew Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
A very simple and tasty recipe. The family will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Ohio, USA
Living In: Urbana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
We make this beef stew all the time during the fall/winter season. We always double the meat. It takes longer to prepare than 20 minutes, about 1 hour. Sometimes we add 1 more can of tomato sauce, to change up the flavor. Great with a fresh french bread loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This was a very good stew! I'm in agreement with the other reviewers, WAY too much broth that comes out like a soup. I would halve the broth and consomme and tomato sauce, and add a little bit more flour to the mix. Also, I started at about noon, and it wasn't ready for dinner so we left it on low over night and all day the next day and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I love this stew. I reduced the chicken broth and beef consomme both by half a can. Also, about an hour before this was done I added 1tbsp of cornstarch mixed with half a cup of water to thicken it up a bit more. I also took the mushrooms out the second time I made it. Wasn't a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
It was great. Makes a ton though. I had to transfer it from the slow cooker to the stove top because it would have taken much much longer than 6 hours. Otherwise, very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Not bad, but I thought it was a little bland. I didn't add potatoes, I used quinoa instead--doesn't get mushy and is high in protein. I also added some red wine to it, and cooked it all on low in my crockpot overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This was so thin and runny and it tasted like Campbell's tomato soup with beef & veggies tossed in. I will not make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Harris, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Recipe was pretty good. I followed other reviewers and skipped the tomato sauce and even then it was very thin. It was a lot of stew, thankfully I have a five quart crockpot, it just fit. I also added browning and seasoning sauce to it because of all the flour I added lightened it up too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Great recipe! I will cut down on the liquids a bit next time because there was too much gravy left. Excellent flavor though. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I completely agree with the previous comments regarding the amount of liquid. I used much less - I made this with 16oz stewing meat, and ended up using one can of beef broth, one can of diced tomatoes, and a maybe 2/3 of the tomato can filled with water. I followed the recipe exactly, and thought it was quite bland. So I added more freshly-ground black pepper, some Italian seasoning, and an Oxo cube, which helped, but it was still lacking something. I think maybe a few cups of red wine, reduced during the cooking time, might have helped. Overall, I thought this was good but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States