Cozy Cottage Beef Stew Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This made a really good soup, not so much a stew. After reading other reviews, I decided to leave out some liquid, so I only put one chicken broth in and left out the tomato sauce. The result was some really velvety soup. I also put in a pound of stew meat instead of 3/4, and cut my vegetables larger, rather than dicing like the recipe recommends. This fit perfectly in my 5 quart crock pot, and was definitely ready after one hour on high and 8 on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Jones Frandsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
A very simple and tasty recipe. The family will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Ohio, USA
Living In: Urbana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
We make this beef stew all the time during the fall/winter season. We always double the meat. It takes longer to prepare than 20 minutes, about 1 hour. Sometimes we add 1 more can of tomato sauce, to change up the flavor. Great with a fresh french bread loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This was a very good stew! I'm in agreement with the other reviewers, WAY too much broth that comes out like a soup. I would halve the broth and consomme and tomato sauce, and add a little bit more flour to the mix. Also, I started at about noon, and it wasn't ready for dinner so we left it on low over night and all day the next day and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I love this stew. I reduced the chicken broth and beef consomme both by half a can. Also, about an hour before this was done I added 1tbsp of cornstarch mixed with half a cup of water to thicken it up a bit more. I also took the mushrooms out the second time I made it. Wasn't a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
It was great. Makes a ton though. I had to transfer it from the slow cooker to the stove top because it would have taken much much longer than 6 hours. Otherwise, very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Not bad, but I thought it was a little bland. I didn't add potatoes, I used quinoa instead--doesn't get mushy and is high in protein. I also added some red wine to it, and cooked it all on low in my crockpot overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This was so thin and runny and it tasted like Campbell's tomato soup with beef & veggies tossed in. I will not make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Harris, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Recipe was pretty good. I followed other reviewers and skipped the tomato sauce and even then it was very thin. It was a lot of stew, thankfully I have a five quart crockpot, it just fit. I also added browning and seasoning sauce to it because of all the flour I added lightened it up too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Great recipe! I will cut down on the liquids a bit next time because there was too much gravy left. Excellent flavor though. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States