Cozy Cottage Beef Stew Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I am going to review this in 2 stages. I wanted a beef "soup" so I am trying to use "all" recommended liquid. I am currently cooking the recipe now. I have a very very LARGE crockpot. I can't use all the liquid!!! I overfilled my crockpot at 75% of liquids in recipe. Currently I have 23 ounces of chicken stock and 14 ounces of beef. With everything else, it is overflowing! My 2nd complaint is the amount of onion. It took so long to get everything chopped/diced (smaller for soup) that I have started this on high but after 2 hours it just taste like onion. The rest is bland at this point and I hope it gets better over the next 5 hours. I will update then but currently I warn all, following the exact recipe will cause overflow of your crockpot. For those looking for a stew you won't use all the liquid anyways but for those who did want a good chunky soup, be warned. update: This was a horrible attempt. Nothing went right from beginning to end. It was bland, overflowing my pot. In the end it was so bad to save what I could of this expense I had to add so much in seasoning that it wasn't this recipe. I probably should have realized this since all the reviews of a great soup were after many had made enormous changes to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZDSRTROZE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parks, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Tasty, my guests liked it. Made a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamnto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Nothing special; a soup that taste like stew. It's alright, but nothing impressive. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Storm23

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I am the submitter of this recipe, and it IS a soup. However, it can be changed easily to make a stew. Increase the meat to 3 to 3.5 pounds. Cut the liquids in half (meaning 1 can chicken broth, one can beef consomme or stock.) Mix 1/2 cup of flour into the cool stock before adding to the pot, then stir until the mixture comes to a simmer, in order to keep it smooth. Vegetables can be tailored to suit your taste. Root veggies are good, like turnip or yams. You can use less onion if you like (should read 2 SMALL onions,) and omit the green beans and mushrooms if you don't like them. Use more or less pepper, as you prefer. THIS RECIPE IS EASILY TAILORED TO YOUR TASTE. i.e. if you don't like lots of onion, cut it back to one. Use more spice if you like stronger flavors, or more garlic if that's the way you like things. Omit the tomato sauce and/or crushed tomatoes if you don't like your soup somewhat tomatoey - if you do, feel free to add some fresh chopped tomato. Cut the vegetables in chunks instead of mincing, if you like it heartier. If you have a crock pot smaller than the largest size, for which this recipe was created, be sure to cut down on your liquids. Use whatever is needed to fill your particular pot to no more than 3/4 full, then STOP ADDING LIQUID. The crock pot should NEVER be filled to overflowing - that's just plain common sense. Important: Taste for salt before serving and adjust as necessary. That should always be your last step before serving any dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I love how easy this is! I changed the recipe a bit--left out the mushrooms, only used 1 onion and 2 cloves of garlic. For the meat, I used one round steak cut into cubes. Instead of cans of broth, I just made it from bouillon--but be sure to let the chicken stock cool completely before adding the flour. The last time I made this, I left out the tomato chunks but added more water to compensate. To me, the consistency is more like soup, and I've frozen all 12 cups for a hearty meal in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
next tim i will add more meat but otherwise it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
The stew was just a little to spicey reduce pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This made a really good soup, not so much a stew. After reading other reviews, I decided to leave out some liquid, so I only put one chicken broth in and left out the tomato sauce. The result was some really velvety soup. I also put in a pound of stew meat instead of 3/4, and cut my vegetables larger, rather than dicing like the recipe recommends. This fit perfectly in my 5 quart crock pot, and was definitely ready after one hour on high and 8 on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States