Cowpoke Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
These beans were awesome. I kinda cheated, and I hate that because chef inspired recipes should be treated that way, but they were still great. I had to make enough for a side dish for my Class of 2000 reunion BBQ so I calculated the recipe for 70 and I used 3 gallon size cans of Bushes pinto beans. I used lots of garlic (I didn't measure), but I used all of the other ingredients to the exact measurements they were calculated out for. I cooked and crumbled the bacon into the tomato mixture and saved the tomato mixture for the next day. We were traveling so it went with us on ice. I added the beans and simmered everything together for 20 minutes, then headed out the door. I only heard positive remarks about the recipe, and even bean haters said they loved them. The only problem I came across was that the chili powder was not listed in the directions. I added it to the tomato mixture but still had to give this recipe 5 stars. My husband is a bean hater and told me I had permission to cook these again in the winter and he would eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Laplante

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I added the cooked bacon and chopped garlic to the tomato mixture later, rather than to the beans while they were cooking. We like things on the spicy side, so on the final tasting, added a very healthy shot of Trader Joe's chili pepper sauce which took these beans from mediocre to spectacular! The beans cooked in about an hour, so I just transferred this to a slow cooker for dinner later. Could use double or triple garlic, but this is a great bean dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
My husband & I LOVE this recipe. It's thick & pasty & hearty ~ perfect comfort food. I use a lot more bacon & a lot more garlic. Everything else I do exactly as she says, & we honestly hold this recipe as one of our very favorites. I even chose it as the one to give out in a recipe tree I was involved in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
Awesome recipe! Great with smoked ribs, brisket, chicken, etc. I substituted the stewed tomatoes with Rotel tomatoes and it has been a big hit time and time again. Thanks for sharing T. Pringle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
These were awesome! I put them over rice for dinner and added some sliced smoked sausage. Could use a little more liquid if putting over rice, but as is would be great as a side to a brisket! Loved it.Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
GREAT recipe! Made these exactly as written, though I simmered the beans with a large jalapeno pepper...seeds and all...mixed in. This recipe is a must try, and I can't wait to mix with other add-ins. Thanks so much for sharing this one. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Absolutely loved these beans. I mixed this recipe up with another I had out and started the beans in chicken stalk which was surprisingly a great idea, and I didn't have marjoram so I substituted oregano. I intend to make it again and have the right spice on hand just to see the difference, but my husband loved these beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by utahnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stansbury Park, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Great Food ! took it to work and watched it dissappear!I subbed smoked shanks instead of bacon .Very good will do again, Might make them a bit spicier but great as is .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abejen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
this was a great bean recipe, i of course aded more bacon we are a bacon loving family, and it paired super nicely with some corn bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I did tweak this slightly to make just a tad healthier by subbing olive oil for butter, home canned tomatoes for stewed tomatoes (less sodium) and omitting the salt. This was still absolutely delicious. This will be my pinto bean recipe from now on! First class!!! P.S. May add just a tad of jalapeno in the future...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

How to Make Dilly Beans

These string beans will add zing to your salads all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States