Cowpoke Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
My husband & I LOVE this recipe. It's thick & pasty & hearty ~ perfect comfort food. I use a lot more bacon & a lot more garlic. Everything else I do exactly as she says, & we honestly hold this recipe as one of our very favorites. I even chose it as the one to give out in a recipe tree I was involved in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I made this for my family and they loved it. We don't like things too hot but with good flavor and this one has it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maud, Texas, USA
Living In: De Kalb, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This recipe was fine, but I feel that the spices weren't strong enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
Awesome recipe! Great with smoked ribs, brisket, chicken, etc. I substituted the stewed tomatoes with Rotel tomatoes and it has been a big hit time and time again. Thanks for sharing T. Pringle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I love these beans! I never seem to have the marjoram on hand, but I use all the rest of the ingredients mostly as measured. If I happen to have a ham bone, I'll use it and chunks of ham instead of bacon. I also add a jalapeno when boiling for more flavor with a kick. The secret is the added tomato mixture and letting the flavors meld together. We make a meal out of it with cornbread on the side. NOTE: This is not a chili recipe, so you'll have to hunt the website a little longer if that's what you are looking for. These are just good old fashioned Southern comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These beans had good flavor, but I found them to have no sauce to speak of. Not sure why, I followed the drections exactly, and others haven't had this problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
Tasted strange and not much like chili as I know it, even for vegetarian chili. My husband loved the balance of spices used, so I thought next time I'd try adding some ground beef for that more traditional chili flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
These beans are in their final stages, cooking on my stove as we speak. Fantastic! Rarely do I find beans which have so much complexity. DELISH!!! The only thing I did differently is add a jalapeno from my garden while boiling the beans. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Great Food ! took it to work and watched it dissappear!I subbed smoked shanks instead of bacon .Very good will do again, Might make them a bit spicier but great as is .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Woolsey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I added the cooked bacon and chopped garlic to the tomato mixture later, rather than to the beans while they were cooking. We like things on the spicy side, so on the final tasting, added a very healthy shot of Trader Joe's chili pepper sauce which took these beans from mediocre to spectacular! The beans cooked in about an hour, so I just transferred this to a slow cooker for dinner later. Could use double or triple garlic, but this is a great bean dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States