Cowgirl Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
definately missing some spices, can't say what, but it was somewhat bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal LuvBug Smart
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
My family loves this andi mostly make it with elk so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
One of the best stews I have made! I substituted ground turkey for the beef, left out the bell peppers and instead added a bag of mixed frozen veggies that's made for soup. Served it up with homemade cornbread muffins and the meal was a success! My husband, myself, and our friends loved this. Will be making again for sure. Thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joe Cwik
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I used fresh garlic and briefly sauteed the celery, (added some fresh carrots) and a small onion. Whatever beans are in the pantry work ;) (that's half the fun of stews) We also used half ground beef and sausage. When it all cooked down and the potatoes were tender I added about 1/3 cup of a good BBQ sauce and a big shot of Valentino's hot sauce. The BBQ and hot sauce added some complexity and a nice rich flavor I thought the stew might benefit from. It went perfectly with BBQ ribs on our grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Cwik

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mountain View, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Loved this recipe. The only thing I changed was using 1 lb ground meat and 1 lb ground sausage. Gave it a lot of flavor. Will be making this again. Great soup on a rainy/snowy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This was just great! I used cannellini beans and put a bag of mixed frozen veggies in (corn, green beans, peas). It makes a ton, so I froze the rest. It is a very versatile stew, so I can imagine you can use whatever veggies you have on hand. I'm sure it would be good with ground turkey too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Currently making it for the 2nd time in two weeks! That pretty much says everything. This is a great recipe for a quick, hearty, and delicious meal. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is wonderful used stewed tomatoes instead of regular tomatoes put in crock pot house smelled wonderful. My husband devoured it and is asking me to make more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
It's so nice seeing everyone substituting ingredients and changing measurements because this recipe is BORN to do this! More meat, less meat; More spices, less spices; Different kind of beans; no potatoes but rice; I've done it all sorts of ways, just depending on what I have on hand and who I'm cooking for. If I'm making this for my son and husband, I add tons of crushed hot pepper flakes because they love things hot & spicy, but I don't dare eat it that way, so I take out some for me before I add it. The mark of a good cook is making a recipe their own, and it makes me happy to see that great cooks are making, reviewing and eating this recipe. I plan on trying some of these changes myself-thanks to all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Easy and good! I added season salt and a pepper blend. Made a huge pot, plenty to eat the next day or freeze for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States