Cowgirl Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joe Cwik
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I used fresh garlic and briefly sauteed the celery, (added some fresh carrots) and a small onion. Whatever beans are in the pantry work ;) (that's half the fun of stews) We also used half ground beef and sausage. When it all cooked down and the potatoes were tender I added about 1/3 cup of a good BBQ sauce and a big shot of Valentino's hot sauce. The BBQ and hot sauce added some complexity and a nice rich flavor I thought the stew might benefit from. It went perfectly with BBQ ribs on our grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Cwik

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mountain View, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Loved this recipe. The only thing I changed was using 1 lb ground meat and 1 lb ground sausage. Gave it a lot of flavor. Will be making this again. Great soup on a rainy/snowy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This was just great! I used cannellini beans and put a bag of mixed frozen veggies in (corn, green beans, peas). It makes a ton, so I froze the rest. It is a very versatile stew, so I can imagine you can use whatever veggies you have on hand. I'm sure it would be good with ground turkey too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Currently making it for the 2nd time in two weeks! That pretty much says everything. This is a great recipe for a quick, hearty, and delicious meal. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is wonderful used stewed tomatoes instead of regular tomatoes put in crock pot house smelled wonderful. My husband devoured it and is asking me to make more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
It's so nice seeing everyone substituting ingredients and changing measurements because this recipe is BORN to do this! More meat, less meat; More spices, less spices; Different kind of beans; no potatoes but rice; I've done it all sorts of ways, just depending on what I have on hand and who I'm cooking for. If I'm making this for my son and husband, I add tons of crushed hot pepper flakes because they love things hot & spicy, but I don't dare eat it that way, so I take out some for me before I add it. The mark of a good cook is making a recipe their own, and it makes me happy to see that great cooks are making, reviewing and eating this recipe. I plan on trying some of these changes myself-thanks to all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Easy and good! I added season salt and a pepper blend. Made a huge pot, plenty to eat the next day or freeze for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
OK, I hate it when users here change the ingredients and give the original recipe a low rating. I didn't have a few of the main ingredients, but this recipe inspired me to try it with what I had on hand... Don't laugh, but I made some huge changes, lol, I didn't have ground beef, so I substituted a couple of chicken breast halves for the beef... I didn't have ranch-style beans so I used a can of regular pork'n beans... still not done, lol... I didn't have frozen corn so I used a can of early peas, so even with these radical changes, this was WONDERFUL! The secret is the sauce, so it didn't matter what protein used (beef or pork stew meat would work too)... I was a little hesitant about the amount of chili powder as my family doesn't like too spicy, so I added a little at a time, and the two Tablespoons is just about right... I increased the sugar to about a teaspoon (why would just a 1/4 tea work anyway?). This recipe is unique and very tasty... Hamburg Vegetable soup is different and shouldn't be compared... the spices and tomato and the beans blend together perfectly in this recipe! I can't wait to use other meats in it, as I think just about anything would work. Thank you Paula T for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe that lends plenty of leeway for someone to gussy it up to suit their own tastes! Someone asked what Ranch Style Beans are. They are actually a brand of beans. Pinto beans in a sauce. You might google to see if there are copy-cat recipes, should you wish to make your own, or if you just want an idea to see what goes in them. There may be similar brands of beans that could substitute should you not be able to find them. Walmart does carry this brand, so you may want to check with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This makes a lot, so be aware of that when you make it. This soup is good but needs additional seasoning, which would probably be different for every family. It is somewhat similar to Taco Soup if additional seasoning were added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States