Cowboy Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
solid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyaun Regan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Yummy! I sent this recipe to my two college kids to try because it's so easy and good. I changed the recipe just a little and forgot the apricot sauce. I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Adams
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
OK, so I did not follow this EXACTLY. I really just jumped on the idea of using pork meat with taco seasoning, salsa, and apricot preserves as a base taco filling and it was delicious! I just threw all of those ingredients in a dish, baked it until heated through, and everyone gobbled it up. No leftovers! Super easy, healthy; this will be a staple in our house. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Very good. A real "keeper." Washed and drained my chili beans and added a squirt of lemon juice. Filled taco shells, topped with some grated cheese, then placed in 300 oven for 7 minutes. Crunchy deliciousness - rave reviews! (I always do the oven thing with tacos. My sister-in-law taught me this little trick many years ago.) I have another recipe that uses concentrated lemonade. May try that in place of the apricot preserves some other time. Thanks for posting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Essary Nelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quanah, Texas, USA
Living In: Elk Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Made ours with leftover shredded beef roast. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I started with raw cubed pork loin as that is what I had. It might have worked better with leftover, pre-cooked shredded pork roast, but pork loin turned out rubbery. By the time I added an undrained can of chili beans plus the salsa, it was so soupy there was no way I could serve it in taco shells. We did as another reader suggested, and served on chips nacho-style. I added a quarter cup each diced onion and bell pepper as the recipe seemed a bit void of ingredients (pork, beans, apricots?). In any event, my husband and I found it just a little too weird, a little too sweet, and I won't make it again. I'd rather have just regular tacos with ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I LOVE tacos, wraps and burrito type meals. They can be enjoyed by vegans, vegetarians, and meat-a-sauruses alike. And at the same meal, too! I do this recipe with black beans in place of pork, for me. But will offer the meat for non-veggies. The apricots provide a stunning taste bud experience with the other ingredients. Delish! When I skip the meat, I also skip the taco seasoning. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
By far, the best tacos on this site! I did it a little different than the recipe but it was awesome. I mixed the salsa, preserves and beans in the crockpot, seared off the pork on the stove and added it to the crockpot. I cooked it on low for 3 hours. Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This was delicious! I was hesitent of the apricot preserves, but it does give the dish a nice flavor. Also worked great for leftovers; the sauce thickens up a little bit so you can use soft shells more easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This was really good. A bit soupy, but a slotted spoon solves that. For me a bit sweet (never really been a sweet person), but husband thought it had perfect flavor. I would recommend if you aren't really a sugar person to half the apricot preserves. I used pre-sliced pork that was cut thin and long, like for fajitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Smoked Sausage Tacos

Put a simple smoked-sausage twist on taco night.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States