Cowboy Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This is the stew my body has been craving. My mother used to make this for me as a child, and my son-in-law, an Eagle Scout; reintroduced me. I love this with a not too sweet cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwightNT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
awesome, you can spice this recipe up, or leave as is for a good soup/stew on a cold night. I added various spices, and a can of diced tomatoes, whole potatoes, an extra can of green bean and a can of peas. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armitagegirl82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Took this in a crockpot camping and served it with Tostitos Scoops as a dip/snack!! I think I may have used diced tomatoes instead of stewed though just because I didn't pay attention to what I was buying! It was a definite hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JuiceMom
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This recipe is definately a 5 star recipe for ease and versatility. I often saute ground beef and just freeze it for future use. With the beef presauteed this would be a VERY quick easy meal. Seems like a cross between baked beans and chili. You can add or omit as you see fit. I sauteed the ground beef with garlic, onion, coriander, cumin, chopped carrots and chipotle peppers. Then threw in the beans, tomatoes, and corn. I also added a can mild chilis. I served it over brown rice, but it would be good over potatoes too (maybe cowboy mashed potatoes from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I have made this several times now. It is easy and flavorful. I made a little addition of 1 large can of tomato paste and use italian seasoning instead of the oregano. Everyone gets a chuckle at the name but love it when they taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scotland, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Good stew will add it to our recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Hughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Suprisingly good for the effort needed. I like things hot so I used salsa (hot) in lieu of the tomatoes, but other than that stayed pretty true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I loved this quick and easy recipe. I added fresh garlic, cumin, red pepper flakes and garlic salt to the mixture... it was delicious over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This stew is quick, easy, delicious and filling! I added garlic and a half jar of jalapeños because it was cold out and a spicy stew was just what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanderer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Really simple - really yummy! We had to leave the beans out because of an allergy in the family, but I'm sure it's even better with them! Definitely recommend this recipe for camping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States