Cowboy Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Oh .....just don't eat a ton of it....no wonder it's so darn GOOD. I cooked up some stew beef and onion threw that in the crock pot and followed the rest....mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
No one loves to build a pot of chili for hours and hours, cooking beef and pork to shred and adding layers of flavor to the pot as the chili simmers, more than I do. But sometimes I don't feel up to it, or need something quick and good, and all I have defrosted is ground beef. This is it! You can spice it up, if you need to, or add whatever kind of beans you have in the pantry, instead. Once I had frozen corn, but no cream corn. I did use some of the frozen corn for the corn flavor and texture, and used a can of refried beans as the thickening agent I lost, not having cream corn, Worked fine. For a 30 minute recipe with very few ingredients, it's a winner. I wouldn't serve this at a dinner party, but it's good for a quick, inexpensive meal. Hubby likes it on hot dogs too, and that's easy enough. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Everyone in my family liked this and went back for thirds! It was a great recipe for using up some things in my pantry before they get too old. I didn't have tomato sauce, so I used tomato soup. Also used vegetarian beans instead of pork & beans. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was edible, and easy to make, but that's about it. It lacked pretty heavily in the flavor department. I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is a really good homey food. I make it for party's in the winter. It gives just the right taste. It's also really good w/sour cream and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Wells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Front Royal, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made this soup when I first moved out on my own, only I used regular canned corn and I added a packet of taco seasoning. It was great because I could buy all the ingredients for less than five dollars and eat well for a week, or longer if I made cornbread to go with. I wasn't much of a cook back then so I dumped everything in the crockpot (after I browned the meat) and left it to simmer all day. I did beef it up just a bit with a couple cans of diced tomatoes. This mixed with cream cheese makes a GREAT "taco" crockpot dip for large gatherings. You can also sub ground turkey or chicken for the beef. When I make this now, I use my own taco seasoning only because the flavor is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Great soup/stew to throw together and heat up in your crockpot. My husband and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Just ok, and wouldn't make again. Doesn't get much easier though. After tasting it I added some hot sauce, and some garlic powder, and even some hot dog. It'd probably be good as is with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I changed a few things around in this recipe so that I could use what I had on hand. I doubled this recipe and substituted 1 can or Rotel for the second can of tomato sauce and the diced green chilis. I also added canned chili without beans because this is what I had. I also added 1 small can of tomato paste and 2 T sugar. This turned out great with ingredients that I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Daycare Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
My boyfriend and I both loved this stew. He's a picky eater and went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States