Cowboy Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Oh .....just don't eat a ton of it....no wonder it's so darn GOOD. I cooked up some stew beef and onion threw that in the crock pot and followed the rest....mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
No one loves to build a pot of chili for hours and hours, cooking beef and pork to shred and adding layers of flavor to the pot as the chili simmers, more than I do. But sometimes I don't feel up to it, or need something quick and good, and all I have defrosted is ground beef. This is it! You can spice it up, if you need to, or add whatever kind of beans you have in the pantry, instead. Once I had frozen corn, but no cream corn. I did use some of the frozen corn for the corn flavor and texture, and used a can of refried beans as the thickening agent I lost, not having cream corn, Worked fine. For a 30 minute recipe with very few ingredients, it's a winner. I wouldn't serve this at a dinner party, but it's good for a quick, inexpensive meal. Hubby likes it on hot dogs too, and that's easy enough. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Everyone in my family liked this and went back for thirds! It was a great recipe for using up some things in my pantry before they get too old. I didn't have tomato sauce, so I used tomato soup. Also used vegetarian beans instead of pork & beans. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was edible, and easy to make, but that's about it. It lacked pretty heavily in the flavor department. I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is a really good homey food. I make it for party's in the winter. It gives just the right taste. It's also really good w/sour cream and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Wells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Front Royal, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made this soup when I first moved out on my own, only I used regular canned corn and I added a packet of taco seasoning. It was great because I could buy all the ingredients for less than five dollars and eat well for a week, or longer if I made cornbread to go with. I wasn't much of a cook back then so I dumped everything in the crockpot (after I browned the meat) and left it to simmer all day. I did beef it up just a bit with a couple cans of diced tomatoes. This mixed with cream cheese makes a GREAT "taco" crockpot dip for large gatherings. You can also sub ground turkey or chicken for the beef. When I make this now, I use my own taco seasoning only because the flavor is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Great soup/stew to throw together and heat up in your crockpot. My husband and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Just ok, and wouldn't make again. Doesn't get much easier though. After tasting it I added some hot sauce, and some garlic powder, and even some hot dog. It'd probably be good as is with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I changed a few things around in this recipe so that I could use what I had on hand. I doubled this recipe and substituted 1 can or Rotel for the second can of tomato sauce and the diced green chilis. I also added canned chili without beans because this is what I had. I also added 1 small can of tomato paste and 2 T sugar. This turned out great with ingredients that I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Daycare Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
My boyfriend and I both loved this stew. He's a picky eater and went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States