Cowboy Skillet Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Steve
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Turned out pretty good for us country folks. I think I'll add some cheese under the cornbread next time. I Also think Mexican cornbread on top would be good. But it was really quick to make and was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I enjoyed this recipe more than I thought I would. I pretty much followed the recipe but made a few modifications for what I had in the pantry 1) I omitted the bell peppers 2) I used Bush's Black Bean Fiesta Grillin Beans and 3) I used a 15 oz. package of corn bread from Trader Joe's. I added a can of green peppers and a can of corn to the cornbread mix. The recipe turned delicious but next time I will use the 8.5 package of cornbread specified in the recipe, rather than the 15 oz. package. The cornbread to meat-mixture ratio was too high. Obviously, that was my fault not the recipe's. Very simple meal and a crowd-pleaser. Easy weeknight meal that will be added to my meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Every time I make this, it is wiped out. I have played with this recipe a lot, but my favorite change is using ground pork sausage (breakfast sausage).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCULVER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Love this recipe when we are craving "something different"! Flavors work really well together. I leave out the pepper and instead add a can of fiesta corn that has the peppers already included. I also mix in about a cup of shredded cheese before topping off with the cornbread. What's great is that it is sooo easy to modify and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Cowboy Skillet Casserole Haiku: "Used Ranch-style beans, but did the rest as written. Daughter liked, not me." I'm glad that I used Ranch-style beans instead of baked beans b/c the cornbread topping was sweet enough as it was that I wouldn't have wanted the additional sweetness of the baked bean-ey sauce too. Daughter was having a cowboy-themed week at school so this seemed an appropriate recipe to make, and she thought it was great, well, she loved scraping off the cornbread topping, so maybe not. I think I would've preferred a bowl of chili and cornbread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
My family loved this dish! I have 5 kids and they loved it.We also had one more child over for dinner that night and she loved it too! She told her mom and her mom wanted the recipe. I doubled the recipe and used a 10x13 pan and that was the only thing I changed. If I can get 6 kids to love it, well that's just saying something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I've been making this recipe for years. Always used ranch style beans and taco seasoning mix instead of fajita seasoning. If you really want to kick it up a notch, top with a dollop of sour cream and shredded cheddar cheese. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was great!!! We didn't have any fajitas spices, so we used the homemade taco mixture from all recipes and it was spicy but tasted great. It was easy to make and looked and tasted spicy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Easy to pull together on a nite when you are short on time. Added a fresh salad on the side. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandyAnne
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Great recipe. Only did 1 red pepper. Would add more fajita spice next time (2 T?). I used 11 x 8 pan in the oven (instead of using a skillet) It looked like there wasn't enough cornbread on the top, so I doubled the cornbread part. That messed up the cook time- needed 40-50 minutes to cook bread through. Next time I will just use 1 cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States