Cowboy Skillet Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was great!!! We didn't have any fajitas spices, so we used the homemade taco mixture from all recipes and it was spicy but tasted great. It was easy to make and looked and tasted spicy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Easy to pull together on a nite when you are short on time. Added a fresh salad on the side. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlanesMom
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Great recipe. Only did 1 red pepper. Would add more fajita spice next time (2 T?). I used 11 x 8 pan in the oven (instead of using a skillet) It looked like there wasn't enough cornbread on the top, so I doubled the cornbread part. That messed up the cook time- needed 40-50 minutes to cook bread through. Next time I will just use 1 cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I really like this recipe and wish you could rate it 4.5 stars because I did have to change a good few things about it. I had to transfer everything from the skillet to a casserole dish because I don't have an oven proof skillet. The first time I made I found that I needed 2 boxes of Jiffy rather than just one to cover all the material. I found that while it tasted great there wasn't enough sauce and it got a bit dry so I had to keep adding bbq sauce to it while eating. This time I used 2 cans of beans and even added a little extra bbq sauce to the mix. I also added a few spices to taste (cumin, garlic powder, chili powder). When I layered everything in the casserole pan I put a shredded mexican cheese mix on top of the meaty stuff and even mixed some into the cornbread mix and on top of the cornbread. I really like cheese so it was a natural addition for me. This time I have a much better ratio of meat mix to cornbread and plenty of sauce! It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is very good, with some modifications. Only used one red pepper, used 1/2 pack Ortega hot and spicy taco seasoning, used mild chili beans, added frozen corn, and added 1/4 cup Mexican cheese to the corn bread mixture. Had my 8 year old help me make this and she liked helping make it but didnt want to eat it due to the beans.This dish is better when the onions, and peppers are diced fairly small. I will for sure make this again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I omitted the peppers but other than that, I thought this was pretty good. I did add an 8 oz package of shredded cheddar cheese on top of the meat layer. I used an 8x8 pan and it was perfect. I will keep it for a now and again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This was not popular with my family. Everyone ate some of it, but we had a lot left over, which wouldn't normally happen with that quantity of food. The main upside of this recipe is that it's easy to prepare, but I won't make it again. My husband wants me to try modifying the meat portion to make it less sweet (maybe a can of chili instead of a can of baked beans), but I don't think I like the recipe enough to try to modify it to our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Super easy, crowd pleasure. A lot of flavor with few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This is pretty good. I added some corn to the mixture and I also added cheese to the cornbread mix. Very simple and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Fun recipe ;) I made a few tiny changes from reading reviews I added a cup of corn a can of chopped tomatoes with green chilis as well I only used half a red bell pepper and used pinto beans in place of baked beans also before I put the corn bread on top I added some shredded fiesta cheese and doubled my corn bread overall my kids liked it, will make again ;) Thanks for sharing ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States